Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader > Sony Reader Dev Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2012, 12:04 AM   #16
vietchovui
Connoisseur
vietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 86
Karma: 556
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SaiGon VietNam
Device: PRS T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by giosa View Post
Do you want one of the reader fonts change also or just system?

I've made img for you. If you want read in vietnamese from stock reader change original font to ReallyNo2LTW1G.
Thank you. I want to change also system fonts. Because the book titles display incorrectly with the default system font type. How about to recover the T1 after failure in changing font process (in step 5)?
vietchovui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:33 AM   #17
giosa
Connoisseur
giosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcover
 
Posts: 90
Karma: 16056
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Sony PRS T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by vietchovui View Post
How about to recover the T1 after failure in changing font process (in step 5)?
you have to put original fonts img on reader internal memory. That's what I know.
giosa is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 02-13-2012, 10:17 AM   #18
vietchovui
Connoisseur
vietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 86
Karma: 556
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SaiGon VietNam
Device: PRS T1
Thanks, the default sony reader now works like a charm!
vietchovui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:21 PM   #19
giosa
Connoisseur
giosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcover
 
Posts: 90
Karma: 16056
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Sony PRS T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by vietchovui View Post
Thanks, the default sony reader now works like a charm!
You're welcome. Not only reader, browser will load Vietnamese sites correctly. Book titles, TOC, bookmarks etc.
giosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:20 PM   #20
Filo
Member
Filo began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Sony PRS T1
Hi,

I don't understand why changing only Droid Sans Thai to Droid Sans Other will change default font used by reader ?! In directory .fonts are some Droid Sans files, so why only one of them changing everything ? Sony T1 default font not include East Europe characters. Amasis fonts includes missing characters. Which files I should replace with Amasis files to get Amasis as default font when I open first time ebook ?
I'm asking about it, because files not matching (like missing DroidSans Italic file)

file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G-BoldItalic.otf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G-Bold.otf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G-Italic.otf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G.otf

vs

file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansArabic.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSans-Bold.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansFallback.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansHebrew.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansMono.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansThai.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSans.ttf

Best, Filo.
Filo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:26 PM   #21
giosa
Connoisseur
giosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcovergiosa exercises by bench pressing the entire Harry Potter series in hardcover
 
Posts: 90
Karma: 16056
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Sony PRS T1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filo View Post
Hi,

I don't understand why changing only Droid Sans Thai to Droid Sans Other will change default font used by reader ?!
It does not. I will just remove the capability to show Thai glyphs correctly and add capability to show whatever language font you replace it with. Remember we're talking here about system font not the reader software.

Quote:
In directory .fonts are some Droid Sans files, so why only one of them changing everything ?
For each language there's separate font file. For English it's DroidSans, for Hebrew DroidSansHebrew etc. If there's no your language DroidsSans your language will not show correctly in the interface(Book titles, Bookmarks etc.)

Quote:
Sony T1 default font not include East Europe characters. Amasis fonts includes missing characters. Which files I should replace with Amasis files to get Amasis as default font when I open first time ebook ?
You don't need to replace anything, just change fonts in the reader to Amasis

Quote:
I'm asking about it, because files not matching (like missing DroidSans Italic file)

file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G-BoldItalic.otf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G-Bold.otf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G-Italic.otf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/AmasisMTW1G.otf

vs

file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansArabic.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSans-Bold.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansFallback.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansHebrew.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansMono.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSansThai.ttf
file:///home/jacek/Bufor/.fonts/DroidSans.ttf

Best, Filo.

Amasis is reader font vs DroidSans system.

Last edited by giosa; 02-14-2012 at 06:31 PM.
giosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 06:41 AM   #22
Filo
Member
Filo began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 11
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Sony PRS T1
OK, thanks for explanation. Is exist any solution to global change default font ? I don’t like to change font from Original to Amasis each time when I opening new book or newspaper. I didn’t find such option in reader settings.

Best, Filo.
Filo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 01:44 AM   #23
xuyn2003
Connoisseur
xuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texan
 
Posts: 71
Karma: 18140
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: PRS-T1&KOBOTOUCH
Here is another flexible way, I've tested it for several days and met no problems.
Credits to j0534ng31 and uboot
1.Create a file named install-recovery.sh in /system/etc, and put below code in it
Code:
#!/system/bin/sh

mkdir /data/altsd

mount -o noatime,utf8 -t vfat /dev/block/mmcblk2p4 /data/altsd

afd=/data/altsd/altfonts/
fts=`ls $afd`
for ft in $fts
 do
  mount -o bind $afd$ft /ebook/fonts/$ft
done
2.Don't forget to give excution permissions to install-recovery.sh

3.In /mnt/sdcard, create a folder wichi named altfonts, put your fonts in it.
If you want to replace the system UI fonts, rename your fonts to "DroidSans.ttf" and "DroidSans-Bold.ttf".
Or you'd like to replace other fonts, please refer to the original file name in /ebook/fonts, and make your fonts names as same.
ps:The default fonts for txt files is ReallyNo2LTW1G-Regular.otf

4.reboot T1
xuyn2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:52 AM   #24
vietchovui
Connoisseur
vietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 86
Karma: 556
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SaiGon VietNam
Device: PRS T1
I've tried you method. Another install-recovery.sh was already in the /system/etc and I've decided to replace it with your sh. After rebooting, all linked apps's crashed.
vietchovui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:37 PM   #25
j0534ng31
Connoisseur
j0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheese
 
Posts: 83
Karma: 1224
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gijon (Spain)
Device: Sony PRS-T1 black
Quote:
Originally Posted by vietchovui View Post
I've tried you method. Another install-recovery.sh was already in the /system/etc and I've decided to replace it with your sh. After rebooting, all linked apps's crashed.
Were you using Link2SD?
j0534ng31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:22 AM   #26
vietchovui
Connoisseur
vietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enoughvietchovui will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 86
Karma: 556
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SaiGon VietNam
Device: PRS T1
Yes. I was using Link2SD.
vietchovui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 01:33 PM   #27
j0534ng31
Connoisseur
j0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheesej0534ng31 can extract oil from cheese
 
Posts: 83
Karma: 1224
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gijon (Spain)
Device: Sony PRS-T1 black
Quote:
Originally Posted by vietchovui View Post
Yes. I was using Link2SD.
What I mean is that Link2SD use the same trick as us.

It's also based on install-recovery.sh to work, so you have to edit that file to add the fonts mod.

What you cannot do is to replace it by a new one.
j0534ng31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:07 AM   #28
xuyn2003
Connoisseur
xuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texan
 
Posts: 71
Karma: 18140
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: PRS-T1&KOBOTOUCH
Since there‘s already install-recovery.sh, you can edit and add those commands.
Don't replace.
xuyn2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 05:35 AM   #29
QLPRST1
Junior Member
QLPRST1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: Sony PRS-T1
Thanks for sharing Your insights. I tried the method using the install-recovery.sh file. I did not suceed. I followed the guide closely, however on rebooting nothing has changed. Would there be any presumptions a total newbee would be ignorant of? Thanks alot.
QLPRST1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:24 AM   #30
xuyn2003
Connoisseur
xuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texanxuyn2003 might easily be mistaken for a Texan
 
Posts: 71
Karma: 18140
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: PRS-T1&KOBOTOUCH
Quote:
Originally Posted by QLPRST1 View Post
Thanks for sharing Your insights. I tried the method using the install-recovery.sh file. I did not suceed. I followed the guide closely, however on rebooting nothing has changed. Would there be any presumptions a total newbee would be ignorant of? Thanks alot.
1. You'd better edit the .sh file in linux enviorment, or just use the root explore's editor.

2. Don't forget to give excute permissions.

3. Your fonts in /sdcard/altfonts should be same as those in /ebook/fonts.

And after reboot, is there a directory /data/altsd was created by the sh file?
xuyn2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dummies Guide for Idiots on How to Change Epub Fonts advocate2 Sony Reader 16 01-26-2012 05:56 PM
Standard system fonts for Kindle Fire? sjkramer Kindle Fire 11 01-23-2012 01:18 PM
PRS-T1 T1 original system can use customized fonts bigpizza Sony Reader 34 12-30-2011 05:58 PM
PRS-650 Easiest way to change fonts with PRS+ for the PRS 650 BelgarionNL Sony Reader 8 07-29-2011 05:16 AM
PRS-350 Guide for Adding Fonts to PRS-350 JohnnyRocks Sony Reader 7 02-28-2011 04:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.