Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2012, 11:29 PM   #1
PBank
Member
PBank began at the beginning.
 
PBank's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Touch
Contents of main memory of device not showing (Kobo Touch)

A slight glitch. This seems to be a new development since upgrading both Kobo Touch firmware and Calibre in the last couple of days. I have only had the Kobo Touch since Christmas - but this was working initially.
The device is recognized and I can drag and drop files from the library to it fine, but when I click on the device icon I get a blank area where the books should show up. At the bottom of the screen it says ...Connected to Kobo Reader.
Any suggestions?
PBank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:19 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,251
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBank View Post
A slight glitch. This seems to be a new development since upgrading both Kobo Touch firmware and Calibre in the last couple of days. I have only had the Kobo Touch since Christmas - but this was working initially.
The device is recognized and I can drag and drop files from the library to it fine, but when I click on the device icon I get a blank area where the books should show up. At the bottom of the screen it says ...Connected to Kobo Reader.
Any suggestions?
You don't Drag book from the Library.
You SEND to Device (or Save to (external) Disk).
If you use the latter, you need to disconnect (eject), then reconnect for Calibre to discover books that are now there (discovery only happens on connection)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 01-02-2012, 12:32 AM   #3
PBank
Member
PBank began at the beginning.
 
PBank's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Touch
Thanks, but not sure what you mean - what is wrong with dragging and dropping books from library to device? And my method of transferring files is not the problem - no books show up in the screen, no matter how many times I connect or reconnect - though the transfer is working just fine - so this is not a really major problem, I guess.
The Calibre manual says:
"You can also drag and drop books from your calibre library onto the icon to transfer them to your device. Conversely, you can drag and drop books from your device onto the library icon on the toolbar to transfer books from your device to the calibre library." That is what I have been doing. Surely this is no different from sending them to the device?
PBank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:48 AM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,251
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBank View Post
Thanks, but not sure what you mean - what is wrong with dragging and dropping books from library to device? And my method of transferring files is not the problem - no books show up in the screen, no matter how many times I connect or reconnect - though the transfer is working just fine - so this is not a really major problem, I guess.
The Calibre manual says:
"You can also drag and drop books from your calibre library onto the icon to transfer them to your device. Conversely, you can drag and drop books from your device onto the library icon on the toolbar to transfer books from your device to the calibre library." That is what I have been doing. Surely this is no different from sending them to the device?
I was thinking you were messing about in the Library folder with Windows Explorer (or equivalent) .
I have not used that way to get books to my device. I always select books and click the send to Device icon.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:55 AM   #5
PBank
Member
PBank began at the beginning.
 
PBank's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Touch
No - I am not messing about in the library folder of Explorer or anything else - I mean dragging and dropping a book or group of books to the "device" icon on the toolbar. This is a perfectly legit way to transfer books within Calibre - but this is a red herring - this is not the source of the problem.
PBank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:00 AM   #6
PBank
Member
PBank began at the beginning.
 
PBank's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Touch
Sorry, theducks, re-reading your message, I see you are not misunderstanding me - just saying you had not used this method before. Anyway, my original question still stands if anyone has any ideas.
PBank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:02 AM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,416
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Run calibre in debug mode (right click the preferences button) and post the debug log
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:17 AM   #8
PBank
Member
PBank began at the beginning.
 
PBank's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Touch
I ran it in debug mode and it worked perfectly fine. So I ran it not in debug mode and it worked perfectly fine. This is like when you take your car in because it is making an awful noise and it works perfectly for the mechanic. I swear i was not imagining it and I checked my connections and tried several times before. Anyway, thanks, both of you.
PBank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:57 AM   #9
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,775
Karma: 12516053
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBank View Post
The Calibre manual says:
"You can also drag and drop books from your calibre library onto the icon to transfer them to your device. Conversely, you can drag and drop books from your device onto the library icon on the toolbar to transfer books from your device to the calibre library."
You learn something new everyday.

You're the first person in 3 years that used the words "drag and drop files from the library" and wasn't talking about using a file manager to move files from the library to the device outside of calibre. I've been using calibre for over 3 years and doing what you do never occurred to me. That said, I think I'll just stick with highlighting the books and clicking the Send to device icon.

Good Reading.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:13 AM   #10
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,251
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
FWIW

I just enabled my Icons and tried the drag to Send To Device (my PEz).
The "Not allowed" (Circle-bend sinister) pointer symbol appeared
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:32 AM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,416
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You have to drag to "Device" not "Send to Device".
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:36 AM   #12
HarryT
eBook Enthusiast
HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarryT ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
HarryT's Avatar
 
Posts: 62,689
Karma: 40373079
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Device: PW2, iPad Retina Mini, iPhone 4, MS Surface Pro, Onyx T68, N7,
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
You have to drag to "Device" not "Send to Device".
I didn't know you could do that . A very useful shortcut - thanks!
HarryT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 11:43 AM   #13
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,251
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
You have to drag to "Device" not "Send to Device".
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:41 PM   #14
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,251
Karma: 5495470
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Do Templates apply?

A question comes to mind

Does drag and drop bypass the Save or Send Templates?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:22 PM   #15
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,416
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Yes, they do. D'nD is exactly the same as right clicking send to device and choosing Send to main memory (or if you drag to the storage card button, clicking send to card A)
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch Kobo Touch Not Showing Books Loaded With Calibre adaptation Kobo Reader 18 01-03-2013 10:42 PM
Kobo Touch Not Showing on Calibre debbec Devices 5 12-15-2011 09:20 PM
Sync news to main memory (Sony touch reader) amastronardi Calibre 1 02-15-2010 10:14 PM
Transferring from Main Memory to Memory Card Modern Bear Sony Reader 3 12-13-2009 06:40 AM
Moving files from memory card to main memory dhbailey Sony Reader 2 03-12-2007 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.