Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2011, 06:15 PM   #1
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
calibre will no longer open - python error

I've uninstalled, reinstalled, cleaned the registry, ensured all directories are deleted...I continue to get this python error on startup...here are the results of the debug:

Code:
C:\Users\Shannon>calibre-debug -g
Python function terminated unexpectedly
  [Error 5] Access is denied (Error Code: 1)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "site.py", line 132, in main
  File "site.py", line 109, in run_entry_point
  File "site-packages\calibre\debug.py", line 190, in main
  File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 347, in main
  File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 104, in __init__
  File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 296, in __init__
WindowsError: [Error 5] Access is denied
Any ideas?
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:23 PM   #2
nickredding
onlinenewsreader.net
nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 320
Karma: 10143
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ & Victoria, BC
Device: Kindle 3, Kindle Fire, IPad3, iPhone4, Playbook, HTC Inspire
We are missing some information here. Did it EVER work or is this your first time installing and running calibre? It looks like a windows permissions error.
nickredding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:27 PM   #3
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
I've been running calibre for several years, it only stopped working after I updated to 0.8.33...I had been on a 0.7.x version for a while before that without updating...I am running Norton and have the C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2 folder excluded from the scans/realtime protection.
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 06:28 PM   #4
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
well, I just got it to run using "Run as administrator"...fun
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:13 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,430
Karma: 5560777
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernShred View Post
well, I just got it to run using "Run as administrator"...fun
did you happen to install it as administrator instead of just allowing when UAC asked?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:30 AM   #6
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
Possibly...can't remember if I upgraded while using my wife's account or not...I have user policies on everyone in the house except me and my user is granted Admin privileges...I have to authorize all installs
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 12:34 PM   #7
ebilodea
Junior Member
ebilodea began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Device: Kindle PW2 (5.4.5.1)
I'm having the same error just now. First time it happened to me, I don't think it has to do with any update. I'm also able to open it by running as administrator. Anyone has an idea what could be causing it and if there is another fix than running as administrator?
ebilodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 01:40 PM   #8
eschwartz
Suspended
eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,214
Karma: 8259940
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Beaten Path, USA, Roundworld, This Side of Infinity
Device: Kindle Touch (Wifi only)
Did you try Reinstalling?
eschwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Open Calibre and Getting Error Message Loosheesh Calibre 12 03-02-2011 10:03 PM
Can't open Calibre-error message matcor Calibre 2 02-26-2011 12:51 AM
Python error! didiyy Calibre 6 09-24-2010 02:05 AM
Calibre won't open after install -- ERROR: Bad database location htbyron Calibre 3 06-17-2010 10:43 AM
Error message when I open Calibre with my my CyBook connected YGG- Calibre 3 01-26-2009 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.