Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2011, 07:15 PM   #1
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
calibre will no longer open - python error

I've uninstalled, reinstalled, cleaned the registry, ensured all directories are deleted...I continue to get this python error on startup...here are the results of the debug:

Code:
C:\Users\Shannon>calibre-debug -g
Python function terminated unexpectedly
  [Error 5] Access is denied (Error Code: 1)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "site.py", line 132, in main
  File "site.py", line 109, in run_entry_point
  File "site-packages\calibre\debug.py", line 190, in main
  File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 347, in main
  File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 104, in __init__
  File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 296, in __init__
WindowsError: [Error 5] Access is denied
Any ideas?
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:23 PM   #2
nickredding
onlinenewsreader.net
nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'nickredding knows the difference between 'who' and 'whom'
 
Posts: 320
Karma: 10143
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ & Victoria, BC
Device: Kindle 3, Kindle Fire, IPad3, iPhone4, Playbook, HTC Inspire
We are missing some information here. Did it EVER work or is this your first time installing and running calibre? It looks like a windows permissions error.
nickredding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:27 PM   #3
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
I've been running calibre for several years, it only stopped working after I updated to 0.8.33...I had been on a 0.7.x version for a while before that without updating...I am running Norton and have the C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2 folder excluded from the scans/realtime protection.
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:28 PM   #4
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
well, I just got it to run using "Run as administrator"...fun
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 08:13 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthernShred View Post
well, I just got it to run using "Run as administrator"...fun
did you happen to install it as administrator instead of just allowing when UAC asked?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 12:30 PM   #6
SouthernShred
Junior Member
SouthernShred began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: Kindle
Possibly...can't remember if I upgraded while using my wife's account or not...I have user policies on everyone in the house except me and my user is granted Admin privileges...I have to authorize all installs
SouthernShred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 01:34 PM   #7
ebilodea
Ignoramus
ebilodea began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Device: Kindle PW2 (5.4.5.1)
I'm having the same error just now. First time it happened to me, I don't think it has to do with any update. I'm also able to open it by running as administrator. Anyone has an idea what could be causing it and if there is another fix than running as administrator?
ebilodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 02:40 PM   #8
eschwartz
Irrational Optimist
eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.eschwartz ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
eschwartz's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,449
Karma: 15652905
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Beaten Path, USA, Roundworld, This Side of Infinity
Device: Kindle Touch fw5.3.7 (Wifi only)
Did you try Reinstalling?
eschwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 01:47 AM   #9
ebilodea
Ignoramus
ebilodea began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Device: Kindle PW2 (5.4.5.1)
Yes I did and it didn't help. I checked the box "run as administrator" for now and I haven't had issues yet.
ebilodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 02:18 AM   #10
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,042
Karma: 2925589
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
@ebilodea - IIRC there are some features that don't work if you run as Admin, but I can't recall precisely what they are.

If you want to get the issue resolved, then run calibre normally and post the complete error block here.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 03:48 AM   #11
ebilodea
Ignoramus
ebilodea began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Device: Kindle PW2 (5.4.5.1)
Ok thanks will do. By error block, you mean a screenshot or copy-paste of the error message that pops up right?
ebilodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 06:03 AM   #12
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,042
Karma: 2925589
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebilodea View Post
Ok thanks will do. By error block, you mean a screenshot or copy-paste of the error message that pops up right?
Post the full error - click Show Details, click Copy to Clipboard and post here - should look something like this

Spoiler:
Code:
calibre, version 2.0.0
ERROR: Unhandled exception: <b>IOError</b>:[Errno 13] File is open in another process: u'e:\\calibre libraries\\_main\\fred bloggs\\silly book (4183)\\silly book - fred bloggs.docx'

calibre 2.0  isfrozen: True is64bit: False
Windows-7-6.1.7601-SP1 Windows ('32bit', 'WindowsPE')
32bit process running on 64bit windows
('Windows', '7', '6.1.7601')
Python 2.7.8
Windows: ('7', '6.1.7601', 'SP1', 'Multiprocessor Free')
Successfully initialized third party plugins: EpubSplit && Count Pages && Beam Ebooks && Generate Cover && Modify ePub && View Manager && Open With && Quality Check && Walk Search History && Quick Preferences && Resize Cover && Reading List && Favourites Menu && Barnes & Noble && Find Duplicates && Import List && Goodreads && User Category && Extract ISBN && FictionDB
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\convert\single.py", line 272, in accept
  File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\convert\metadata.py", line 236, in commit
  File "site-packages\calibre\db\legacy.py", line 465, in set_metadata
  File "site-packages\calibre\db\cache.py", line 57, in call_func_with_lock
  File "site-packages\calibre\db\cache.py", line 1207, in set_metadata
  File "site-packages\calibre\db\cache.py", line 1202, in set_field
  File "site-packages\calibre\db\cache.py", line 1007, in set_field
  File "site-packages\calibre\db\backend.py", line 1405, in windows_check_if_files_in_use
  File "site-packages\calibre\utils\filenames.py", line 370, in __init__
IOError: [Errno 13] File is open in another process: u'e:\\calibre libraries\\_main\\fred bloggs\\silly book (4183)\\silly book - fred bloggs.docx'

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 10:48 AM   #13
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,306
Karma: 6022735
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
and please wrap in [spoiler] tags (red X'd eye on the MR Advanced Reply toolbar)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 10:54 AM   #14
ebilodea
Ignoramus
ebilodea began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Device: Kindle PW2 (5.4.5.1)
Ok so I don't see any "show details" button for that error. All I see when I try to launch the program is this:



I just installed the 2.0 update and it didn't seem to solve the problem either.
ebilodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 11:23 AM   #15
ebilodea
Ignoramus
ebilodea began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Device: Kindle PW2 (5.4.5.1)
Here's what I get when I use debug in command prompt:

Spoiler:
calibre-debug -g
calibre 1.47 isfrozen: True is64bit: False
Windows-8-6.2.9200 Windows ('32bit', 'WindowsPE')
32bit process running on 64bit windows
('Windows', '8', '6.2.9200')
Python 2.7.5
Windows: ('8', '6.2.9200', '', 'Multiprocessor Free')
Python function terminated unexpectedly
[Error 5] Access is denied (Error Code: 1)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site.py", line 132, in main
File "site.py", line 109, in run_entry_point
File "site-packages\calibre\debug.py", line 216, in main
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 443, in main
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\main.py", line 425, in create_listener
File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 130, in __init__
File "multiprocessing\connection.py", line 330, in __init__
WindowsError: [Error 5] Access is denied
ebilodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to Open Calibre and Getting Error Message Loosheesh Calibre 12 03-02-2011 11:03 PM
Can't open Calibre-error message matcor Calibre 2 02-26-2011 01:51 AM
Python error! didiyy Calibre 6 09-24-2010 03:05 AM
Calibre won't open after install -- ERROR: Bad database location htbyron Calibre 3 06-17-2010 11:43 AM
Error message when I open Calibre with my my CyBook connected YGG- Calibre 3 01-26-2009 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.