Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2012, 06:58 AM   #1
geordiejohn
Connoisseur
geordiejohn began at the beginning.
 
geordiejohn's Avatar
 
Posts: 55
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Device: Kindle 3
how to use 2 kindles on Calibre

Hello i have my kindle and i have also been using my wifes cousins kindle to add books,but when i connect my kindle after using her cousins all i can see is her library,is there any way of seeing what is on my kindle please?
thank you.
geordiejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:09 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,105
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
I am a bit confused - when you plug in a Kindle you should be shown (in the device view at least) what is on that specific Kindle. The library view will always show what books are in the current Calibre library with the onDevice column indicating which books also appear to be on the currently connected Kindle.

I am also not quite sure what problem you are trying to solve? Presumably tracking what books are on what Kindle? Calibre does not normally track devices so if you want a permanently visible way of telling what is on a device even when it is not connected you have to take some actions to achieve this.

What is possible is to create a custom column and populate that with appropriate values. Another approach is to use special values in the tags colum.

A different approach is to use the Reading List plugin to maintain lists of what is on each device. That has the advantage that it can also be used to queue up books for the next sync of that device.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 01-11-2012, 01:21 PM   #3
geordiejohn
Connoisseur
geordiejohn began at the beginning.
 
geordiejohn's Avatar
 
Posts: 55
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Device: Kindle 3
i think the Reading List plugin is what i am looking for.
thank you.
geordiejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 12:33 PM   #4
geordiejohn
Connoisseur
geordiejohn began at the beginning.
 
geordiejohn's Avatar
 
Posts: 55
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Device: Kindle 3
i have looked but i cannot find the reading list plugin?
i have also downloaded the find duplicates zip file but i can not see it when i go to toolbar when device is connected/.
geordiejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 12:48 PM   #5
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,230
Karma: 1345754
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
When you install plugins for the first time, a screen appears asking you which toolbar(s)/menu(s) you want the plugin to appear on. There are different toolbars for when a device is connected vs when it is not.

Go to Preferences -> Toolbars to customise the relevant toolbar(s).

When you say "cannot find" the Reading list plugin, do you mean you installed it and now cant find it on a toolbar for instance? Again, Preferences -> Toolbars is your friend. To install it in the first place, it is available from the Plugin Updater via the Preferences arrow dropdown of Get plugins or via Preferences -> Plugins.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 12:56 PM   #6
geordiejohn
Connoisseur
geordiejohn began at the beginning.
 
geordiejohn's Avatar
 
Posts: 55
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Device: Kindle 3
ok thank you.
geordiejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 05:41 AM   #7
geordiejohn
Connoisseur
geordiejohn began at the beginning.
 
geordiejohn's Avatar
 
Posts: 55
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Device: Kindle 3
i have seen in the calibre manual that i can have more than 1 library enabling me to use 2 kindles,it says click on the calibre icon on the toolbar,but i cannot see an icon for calibre?
thank you.
geordiejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:51 AM   #8
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,268
Karma: 6020309
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by geordiejohn View Post
i have seen in the calibre manual that i can have more than 1 library enabling me to use 2 kindles,it says click on the calibre icon on the toolbar,but i cannot see an icon for calibre?
thank you.
The (Choose Library) Icon is books, spine out.
You do still have Icons on your tool bar?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 06:58 AM   #9
geordiejohn
Connoisseur
geordiejohn began at the beginning.
 
geordiejohn's Avatar
 
Posts: 55
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Device: Kindle 3
thank you all ok now.
geordiejohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Kindles - able to sideload/Calibre?? mikel12323 Calibre 7 10-03-2011 06:34 PM
Two Kindles with calibre ofpob Devices 5 01-21-2011 03:29 AM
where has all the kindles gone dogsballs Amazon Kindle 21 12-19-2010 02:02 PM
2 kindles and getting news feeds from calibre saralobman Calibre 2 11-28-2010 04:46 PM
Does Calibre work with new Kindles? warshauer Amazon Kindle 11 08-04-2010 10:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.