Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2011, 09:30 AM   #1
Pinkeyes
Junior Member
Pinkeyes began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle
Calibre-Server - Error: No Books Found

I've noticed if the calibre-server (web version) yields no results, I get the following error message. (This was discovered when I miss-spelled an author)

Can anyone help ? I'm sure this isn't right ?



Pinkeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 03:55 PM   #2
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkeyes View Post
I've noticed if the calibre-server (web version) yields no results, I get the following error message. (This was discovered when I miss-spelled an author)

Can anyone help ? I'm sure this isn't right ?
I get a very similar error message. (The exact error depends on whether I'm accessing \mobile, \browse, \opds, etc.) I suppose it's not very user-friendly, but I just hit the back key on my browser and fix the null search to one that gives a result. Is it creating a problem for you, like hanging your browser, or is it just ugly?
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 09-28-2011, 03:45 AM   #3
Pinkeyes
Junior Member
Pinkeyes began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle
Hi

Thanks for the reply. It isn't causing any particular problem. If the search finds a result, it displays it correctly. The error only shows if the search finds nothing.

So yes, I would say it just looks "ugly" as you say. I am more concerned that this is an issue with my database or may lead to more of a problem in the future.
I'm guessing there is an error somewhere, as this shouldn't be happening.
Pinkeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 03:50 AM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,583
Karma: 12369683
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkeyes View Post
I am more concerned that this is an issue with my database or may lead to more of a problem in the future.
The content server is read only so will not get corrupted via any web search queries. You can check your database for errors via the local GUI, click the library icon and go to Library Maintenance - Check library.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkeyes View Post
I'm guessing there is an error somewhere, as this shouldn't be happening.
I believe the only error, besides typing things in wrong, is in the error handling for an incorrect match. You should submit a bug report and Kovid will look at it when he gets a chance, most likely after the move.

Last edited by DoctorOhh; 09-28-2011 at 03:52 AM.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 06:16 AM   #5
Pinkeyes
Junior Member
Pinkeyes began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
The content server is read only so will not get corrupted via any web search queries. You can check your database for errors via the local GUI, click the library icon and go to Library Maintenance - Check library.
Thank you. It's good to know the read only part. I did a library check and all came back well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
I believe the only error, besides typing things in wrong, is in the error handling for an incorrect match. You should submit a bug report and Kovid will look at it when he gets a chance, most likely after the move.
I will report this. Thanks for your help.
Pinkeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 10:17 AM   #6
Pinkeyes
Junior Member
Pinkeyes began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle
Bug Reported
Pinkeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 10:46 AM   #7
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
I believe the only error, besides typing things in wrong, is in the error handling for an incorrect match.
Yes. It's been that way for a long time and has no effect on the database. The error is reported on the lower half of the content server screen (where the null results ought to appear), but the search box is still accessible at the top of the screen, so I just type another search that won't produce a null result.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre-Server - exclude books (by tag?) edent Calibre 1 05-18-2011 11:31 AM
Calibre server not found catscradle Devices 1 02-12-2011 05:17 PM
Calibre Content Server error in Ubuntu 10.10 Bodman456 Calibre 1 07-07-2010 03:26 PM
calibre html2epub on linux error cannot connect to X server voda Calibre 18 08-17-2009 06:18 PM
Found a bug in the eBook Store Server/Software joblack Sony Reader 8 02-27-2009 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.