Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2008, 10:09 AM   #181
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
I suspect it is a memory leak in the LRF reader software. Basically when formatting large/complex files it needs a lot of memory and not all of this memory is released when the formatting process is completed.

Your donation is much appreciated.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 03:31 PM   #182
sigmax
Connoisseur
sigmax has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 53
Karma: 92
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Uruguay
Device: SONY PRS-300
libprs500 showing interfase in german / french / english all mixed up

HI!

I just bought my sony prs-505, still waiting for it to arrive (a friend of mine brings it from USA on april 23rd, as I live in South America).

I found Kovidgoyal's work quite cool, and I was drooling all over the idea of using libprs500 with the soon-to-be-in-my-hands prs-505 ...

So I downloaded and installed it (version 0.4.49).

I find most of the interfase text / windows / options in german (?) and French(?) and only some (few) labels in english.

So I dont know what am I doing. Is this correct ? it is only happening to me ? I already searched this thread for "german" instances, but only found two unrelated posts ...

Just in case, I am using a windows XP professional / service pack 2, latest patches and aditions in place, in SPANISH.

Regards,

Enrique.
sigmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 09:48 PM   #183
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
weird, try setting the LANGUAGE environment variable to es. A quick google will tell you how to set environment variables in windows.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 10:20 PM   #184
sigmax
Connoisseur
sigmax has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 53
Karma: 92
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Uruguay
Device: SONY PRS-300
the french-spanish-german mess

Hi!

Thanks for your suggestion! I always assumed that in windows XP, language settings are done in the control panel, under the Regional Settings CPL.

I got, in there, in all the related / relevant selectors, SPANISH as language, URUGUAY as country.

I cannot find any other language environment settings.

I googled for it, with no luck.

It may be important to tell that I got lots of applications installed in my notebook, and this is the only application that have such polyglote mix.

If I can be of any help, please let me know. I attached a screen capture showing main labels in spanish, some default text in textbox in german, and a floating window in french, as I try to import some books ...

I am a programmer (.net framework) ... if there is anything I can do for help, just tell me: I´ll gladly try.

Enrique
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dibujo.GIF
Views:	131
Size:	45.5 KB
ID:	12138  
sigmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 10:28 PM   #185
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Ah you misunderstood you have to set an environment variable, like the PATH environment variable. The name of this variable is LANGUAGE or LANG and its value should be es for Spanish.

I'm not sure why you're seeing a polyglot of UI strings. Try running the libprs500-debug.exe program. That should give you a prompt. At the prompt execute the following code:

Code:
import locale
print locale.getdefaultlocale()
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 10:42 PM   #186
sigmax
Connoisseur
sigmax has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 53
Karma: 92
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Uruguay
Device: SONY PRS-300
Hi Kovid,

Thx for your quick response. This is what I get (which seems ok with my settings):

In [1]: import locale

In [2]: print locale.getdefaultlocale()
('es_UY', 'cp1252')

In [3]:


Let me try the variable trick:

Y added LANGUAGE=es and LANG=es both in user and system environment variables, and I still get the language mix. I also tried other windows in librs500, like the one that lets you set the default values for converting books into mobile format, and it also is in language mix.

Weird enough! If I only knew German or French, I Could still use the application. It seems that "es_UY" (cp1252) mixes up something ... it seems to be beyond your own code, if you ask me: More on the side of a bug in the interpreter / compiler of the language you use. I mean, I assume that you are not checking and placing the correct language in EACH label, but set it up as a localization issue at the beginning.

BUT I do not get "the whole thing in one language" but bits in each language. Weird.

Also, this is my own interpretation of where the problem could be (and maybe I just typed a big nonsense

Seriously: I hope you can fix it. Please let me know about any test you want me to perform,

Enrique.
sigmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:05 PM   #187
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Looks like the es translation file contains german and french strings. You can use the application by setting LANGUAGE to en to get english.
If you dont want to have it set globally just create a .bat file that sets it and then launches libprs50. I'll fix the translation file for the next release
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:14 PM   #188
sigmax
Connoisseur
sigmax has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 53
Karma: 92
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Uruguay
Device: SONY PRS-300
If you want me to do some translations, I am OK with English-Spanish languages, just tell me what file should I dig

Time for me to do some sleeping ... !

Regards, Enrique.
sigmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:18 PM   #189
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
No I just checked, the es file is fine and it works for me on linux. Strange. Which strings in particular are appearing in german/french?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 11:20 PM   #190
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
There's a translations howto at http://libprs500.kovidgoyal.net/wiki...t#Translations if you're interested in completing the spanish language file.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 12:55 PM   #191
sigmax
Connoisseur
sigmax has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 53
Karma: 92
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Uruguay
Device: SONY PRS-300
Strings in different languages

Hi!

You can see a bunch of them in the screen capture I sent. In almost every window, there are mixes in language... Maybe you could in a future release, place a manual override language selector, or something like that, instead letting the localizing routines do the automatic job ? Something weird is going on inside them, for sure

Regards,

Enrique
sigmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 10:13 PM   #192
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Unfortunately, I don't recognize Spanish well enough to tell which of those strings are spanish and which not. But adding a config option to select the UI language is a good idea, please open a ticket for it, and I'll implement it when I get some time.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 04:28 AM   #193
iacchi
Connoisseur
iacchi is on a distinguished road
 
iacchi's Avatar
 
Posts: 74
Karma: 66
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florence
Device: PRS-500; Boox 60
The same appened for italian, before my translation. Our UI was half in Spanish, half in German.
iacchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 09:51 PM   #194
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,135
Karma: 5381911
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Hmm I'll have to look into this when I get some time. Problem is I have a hard time since I don't really recognize strings in the various european languages.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 11:16 AM   #195
astrodad
Guru
astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.astrodad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
astrodad's Avatar
 
Posts: 945
Karma: 568242
Join Date: Dec 2007
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 1, iPad, iPhone 5
Kovid,

I am doing development (learning) on Ubuntu and I am able to get the app to run inside PyDev, but none of my UI changes take affect. If I make a change in a .UI file and run it, none of the changes show up. Do I need to compile the UI files separately some how?
astrodad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
libprs500, prs-505

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
libprs500 tommy still Calibre 2 02-09-2008 10:55 AM
Using libprs500 jerryleejr Calibre 2 01-28-2008 12:29 AM
Using Libprs500 for 505 JeffASonyReader Calibre 17 01-21-2008 09:34 AM
Help!!! libprs500 MountainMan Calibre 11 11-13-2007 11:25 PM
libprs500 and 505 carchase Sony Reader 6 10-28-2007 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:16 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.