Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

View Poll Results: How do you use Duokan Lite generally?
from the boot screen 113 34.35%
with launchpad hotkeys 32 9.73%
haven't used yet 184 55.93%
Voters: 329. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2012, 11:11 AM   #541
twilightsenpai
Member
twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.twilightsenpai got an A in P-Chem.
 
twilightsenpai's Avatar
 
Posts: 18
Karma: 6496
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kindle 4
Hey, if i install doukan in my kindle "special offers". It may remove the ads? I mean, doukan so dont show ads, right?
twilightsenpai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:37 AM   #542
thomass
Wizard
thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,643
Karma: 1928003
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle 5.3.7
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilightsenpai View Post
Hey, if i install doukan in my kindle "special offers". It may remove the ads? I mean, doukan so dont show ads, right?
Duokan is a completely separate OS for Kindle. ( like Windows+Ubuntu on a PC )Hence on Duokan you won't see the ads.
thomass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 12:00 PM   #543
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomass View Post
Duokan is a completely separate OS for Kindle. ( like Windows+Ubuntu on a PC )Hence on Duokan you won't see the ads.
Until they come out with an ad-supported version. Perhaps it will have ads for stuff like this: http://theinternettoday.net/funny/ra...oup-for-sluts/
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:49 PM   #544
goofy01
Member
goofy01 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kindle 4
I wish to try duokan 2012
I have a Kindle 4 nt with fw 4.1.0

I downloaded the last version K4 None Touch)2012-06-08.C11296.rtm

I unzipped it and I see this directory

DK_System
K4_4.0.0_to_4.0.1
K4_4.1.0


I understood that I have to put on the root of the kindle

1) DK_System

after I go in the directory K4_4.1.0 (i use this fw) and use the files


2) diagnostic_logs
3) data.tar.gz
4) ENABLE_DIAGS

and finally I reboot


Did I understand well?
Is it correct?
goofy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 03:00 PM   #545
thomass
Wizard
thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,643
Karma: 1928003
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle 5.3.7
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofy01 View Post
1) DK_System

after I go in the directory K4_4.1.0 (i use this fw) and use the files
2) diagnostic_logs
3) data.tar.gz
4) ENABLE_DIAGS
and finally I reboot
correct up to this point

... but not finished yet.

when it boots into diags:
  • reboot in the diags with "D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags"> “R) Reboot System” > “Q) To continue”
  • then exit the diags with “D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags” > “D) Disable Diagnostics” > “Q) To continue”
thomass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 05:37 PM   #546
goofy01
Member
goofy01 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kindle 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomass View Post
correct up to this point

... but not finished yet.

when it boots into diags:
  • reboot in the diags with "D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags"> “R) Reboot System” > “Q) To continue”
  • then exit the diags with “D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags” > “D) Disable Diagnostics” > “Q) To continue”
i have a problem

on the first
D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags">
“R) Reboot System” >
“Q) To continue -FW LEFT

i push enter but the kindle doesn't go forward
it's in loop

i see the same menu

tequila - DIsable diagnostic
----1.0.6.194 ---472072
are you sure?
Q) To continue -FW LEFT

----------------

x) Exit - FW right to exit

i push enter on option q) but the kindle doesn't go forward
what can i do?

uao
I restored the fw of default of kindle

Last edited by goofy01; 06-13-2012 at 05:46 PM.
goofy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 05:56 PM   #547
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofy01 View Post
i have a problem

on the first
D) Exit, Reboot or Disable Diags">
“R) Reboot System” >
“Q) To continue -FW LEFT

i push enter but the kindle doesn't go forward
it's in loop

i see the same menu

tequila - DIsable diagnostic
----1.0.6.194 ---472072
are you sure?
Q) To continue -FW LEFT

----------------

x) Exit - FW right to exit

i push enter on option q) but the kindle doesn't go forward
what can i do?

uao
I restored the fw of default of kindle
"FW LEFT" means that you need to push the "Five-Way" (joy pad) LEFT button to continue. Not the "enter" as you said...
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 02:58 AM   #548
HTT90
Junior Member
HTT90 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTT90 View Post
Thanks for reply !!

Have music player in duokan 2012 ?
Help me !! Thanks !!
HTT90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:24 AM   #549
thomass
Wizard
thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thomass ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,643
Karma: 1928003
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Türkiye
Device: Kindle 5.3.7
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTT90 View Post
Help me !! Thanks !!
In the past yes. However they removed the music player because of a bug and don't know the current situation.
thomass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 05:28 AM   #550
miguelos
Enthusiast
miguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toysmiguelos shares his or her toys
 
Posts: 44
Karma: 5666
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: K3-3G, KT SO
I have K3-3G

should I uninstall kite before installing duokan ?

I've noticed there are two scripts DuoKanInstall.sh and liteinstall.sh - will I choose which one to install during process or should I copy just one of them ?
miguelos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:13 AM   #551
goofy01
Member
goofy01 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kindle 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
"FW LEFT" means that you need to push the "Five-Way" (joy pad) LEFT button to continue. Not the "enter" as you said...
thanks for your support
I have not a big experience but i want to install it

As I said I restored the fw of default of kindle
I tried again to install

I copied again in the root of the Kindle
1) DK_System
2) diagnostic_logs
3) data.tar.gz
4) ENABLE_DIAGS

i reboot and now I have another problem

there is not space

the message is

Duokan used 9MB
Need 14Mb
Available 9MB

Not enough space


my kindle has 1,19 gb free of 1.35
what have I to delete ??

the attached image is the structure of my kindle
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	86
Size:	8.1 KB
ID:	87688  
goofy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:41 AM   #552
geekmaster
Всё гениальное просто.
geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.geekmaster ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
geekmaster's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,070
Karma: 6789001
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Щедрость не имеет пределов.
Device: *.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofy01 View Post
thanks for your support
I have not a big experience but i want to install it

As I said I restored the fw of default of kindle
I tried again to install

I copied again in the root of the Kindle
1) DK_System
2) diagnostic_logs
3) data.tar.gz
4) ENABLE_DIAGS

i reboot and now I have another problem

there is not space

the message is

Duokan used 9MB
Need 14Mb
Available 9MB

Not enough space


my kindle has 1,19 gb free of 1.35
what have I to delete ??

the attached image is the structure of my kindle
I do not know specifically what they intend that message to mean, but based on the small sizes, I suspect that they mean RAM memory storage space, and not the USB drive file storage space. It could possibly mean /var/local storage (persistent user store), but I think it is RAM...

Try rebooting to free some RAM and then try again. Or, you may need to uninstall some stuff that is in memory always running.
geekmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:55 AM   #553
goofy01
Member
goofy01 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kindle 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by geekmaster View Post
I suspect that they mean RAM memory storage space, and not the USB drive file storage space. It could possibly mean /var/local storage (persistent user store), but I think it is RAM...

Try rebooting to free some RAM and then try again. Or, you may need to uninstall some stuff that is in memory always running.
i think the same but i don't know how to delete

I tried to reboot but nothing
goofy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 06:59 AM   #554
tvjohn
Connoisseur
tvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of lighttvjohn is a glorious beacon of light
 
Posts: 83
Karma: 12307
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle 3, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomass View Post
In the past yes. However they removed the music player because of a bug and don't know the current situation.
Hello thomass.

I've just updated my K3 via wifi directly, & just like the last version, the music player works just fine, so I'm not sure what you mean?
tvjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:47 AM   #555
goofy01
Member
goofy01 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2012
Device: kindle 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by goofy01 View Post
i think the same but i don't know how to delete

I tried to reboot but nothing
update

I tried again to install duokan and now I installed it....wow...

thanks to all
goofy01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
doukan, duokan, duokan lite, epub, information, keyboard, kindle keyboard, mod, pdf

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
music player on duokan 2013? billpann Kindle Developer's Corner 6 03-28-2013 12:19 PM
Duokan Lite released by duokan.com, English menus? Nigovic Kindle Developer's Corner 7 02-18-2013 09:08 AM
Having trouble installing Duokan or Duokan Lite on firmware 3.3? multiprose Kindle Developer's Corner 12 02-18-2013 08:24 AM
duokan KT aditya3098 Kindle Developer's Corner 3 03-03-2012 01:49 PM
Arabic support in Duokan/Duokan Lite? Doitsu Kindle Developer's Corner 11 11-28-2011 05:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:43 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.