Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2011, 03:48 AM   #1
soleilos
Junior Member
soleilos began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Device: none
Calibre Portable batch file.

Hi,

I am gradually getting involved in calibre. Its very handy.

I need to have the original calibre-portable.bat file that the calibre-portable.exe is built from.

It seems to be different batch file from the calibre-portable.bat located in resources folder.


Thank you.
soleilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 04:14 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,048
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
The two are not directly related. The one in the resources folder is a batch file and precedes the .exe version and isa Windows batch file while the other is a binary program file. The batch file gives the user finer grain control than the .exe version. Having said that they are almost certainly using common techniques for controlling the placement of Calibre files.

Have you tried setting up a Calibre development environment as defined in the documentation. I would expect the source for calibre-portable.exe to be there (although I must admit I have not checked) and it is likely to be Python code like most of the rest of Calibre.

Last edited by itimpi; 08-20-2011 at 04:19 AM.
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 11:52 AM   #3
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,795
Karma: 4998511
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
The source is in setup/installer/windows/portable.c
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converter brakes batch file on XP, thou not on 7 otrov Conversion 8 04-05-2011 12:50 PM
ebook-convert won't work in a batch file since 0.6.17 mbovenka Calibre 20 01-13-2011 07:03 PM
A little newb help? Launch Calibre via batch file with "Start in tray" modifier jphphotography Calibre 7 01-04-2011 11:49 AM
Problems Using Calibredb Commands in a Batch File Cartaphilus Calibre 3 01-22-2010 07:18 PM
Batch convert to plucker .pdb file. khaoohs Workshop 2 04-28-2006 11:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.