Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2011, 11:58 PM   #1
migdus
Junior Member
migdus began at the beginning.
 
migdus's Avatar
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: kindle
Calibre: Bus error

Hi all

I'm trying to run calibre but it won't run.

When I try to run it from a terminal using the command "calibre" the only error shown is "bus error".

Trying to uninstall using the command line in the calibre download page won't do the trick.

Can somenone help me? Thanks!

BTW I'm using ubuntu linux
migdus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:06 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by migdus View Post
Hi all

I'm trying to run calibre but it won't run.

When I try to run it from a terminal using the command "calibre" the only error shown is "bus error".

Trying to uninstall using the command line in the calibre download page won't do the trick.

Can somenone help me? Thanks!

BTW I'm using ubuntu linux
Which version # of Ubuntu (and is it the normal 32bit or AMD64)
Did you copy and paste the ENTIRE line?
Did it ask for the Sudo password?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:07 AM   #3
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,908
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Did you install via the Binary install as described on this page?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:35 AM   #4
migdus
Junior Member
migdus began at the beginning.
 
migdus's Avatar
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwanthny View Post
Did you install via the Binary install as described on this page?
Yes, I've installed from there

Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Which version # of Ubuntu (and is it the normal 32bit or AMD64)
I'm using AMD64: Linux mercurio 2.6.35-30-generic #56-Ubuntu SMP Mon Jul 11 20:01:08 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Did you copy and paste the ENTIRE line?
Yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Did it ask for the Sudo password?
Yes
migdus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:43 AM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by migdus View Post
Yes, I've installed from there


I'm using AMD64: Linux mercurio 2.6.35-30-generic #56-Ubuntu SMP Mon Jul 11 20:01:08 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Yes

Yes
Well you went past my capabilities I use generic Ubuntu 32

2.6.38.11 generic (Natty). and I even set a Menu item with the command line , so all I do is click, give the password hit Enter to accept /opt
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:47 AM   #6
migdus
Junior Member
migdus began at the beginning.
 
migdus's Avatar
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Well you went past my capabilities I use generic Ubuntu 32

2.6.38.11 generic (Natty). and I even set a Menu item with the command line , so all I do is click, give the password hit Enter to accept /opt
Yeah, and I've installed and run it successfully but it started bugging me now
migdus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:49 AM   #7
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by migdus View Post
Yeah, and I've installed and run it successfully but it started bugging me now
Would putting Calibre on a R.A.I.D drive keep the bugs away
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:58 AM   #8
migdus
Junior Member
migdus began at the beginning.
 
migdus's Avatar
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Would putting Calibre on a R.A.I.D drive keep the bugs away


Ooooook... I've not a RAID unit available... any other alternative?
migdus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bus error, calibre

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calibre, version 0.8.8 ERROR: Error: Error communicating with device no such column: e-bookuser Devices 1 07-03-2011 05:09 PM
Free on Kindle - The Christmas Bus koland Deals, Freebies, and Resources (No Self-Promotion) 7 10-11-2009 08:46 AM
/proc/bus/usb ? troymc Calibre 3 09-05-2009 11:35 AM
seg fault and usb bus error for prs500 on OpenSuSE 11 khassounah Calibre 4 12-30-2008 11:04 PM
PDAs To Help You Wait For Your Bus Bob Russell Lounge 1 03-28-2005 01:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.