Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2011, 06:07 PM   #1
Datepalm
Junior Member
Datepalm began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2011
Device: Kindle
Duokan without the original OS?

Hi,

My Kindle 3 went into a freeze-reboot cycle of doom, and i've already talked to amazon and they'll ship me a new one, but i'm traveling and have no fixed address, so it'll be a while until i'm somewhere where I can pick it up and it's kind of a pain not to have anything to read meanwhile (amazingly lousy timing on the things part.) so i'm messing around and trying to salvage something, but i'm kind of a newbie at this, so any help would be appreciated.

Anyway, i've managed to install Duokan in between freezes, but it suffers from the same. I was wondering, assuming the issue is a software one, if I format the kindle, what would happen? would that get rid of the OS as well? could I then install just Duokan? Has anyone ever tried?

Thanks,
Datepalm
Datepalm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 01:56 AM   #2
tracy2011
Connoisseur
tracy2011 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 57
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by Datepalm View Post
Hi,

My Kindle 3 went into a freeze-reboot cycle of doom, and i've already talked to amazon and they'll ship me a new one, but i'm traveling and have no fixed address, so it'll be a while until i'm somewhere where I can pick it up and it's kind of a pain not to have anything to read meanwhile (amazingly lousy timing on the things part.) so i'm messing around and trying to salvage something, but i'm kind of a newbie at this, so any help would be appreciated.

Anyway, i've managed to install Duokan in between freezes, but it suffers from the same. I was wondering, assuming the issue is a software one, if I format the kindle, what would happen? would that get rid of the OS as well? could I then install just Duokan? Has anyone ever tried?

Thanks,
Datepalm

No problem , you can install DUOKAN, and the kindle system wil be still exist.
tracy2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duokan Lite released by duokan.com, English menus? Nigovic Kindle Developer's Corner 7 02-18-2013 08:08 AM
Duokan Lite? h1uke Kindle Developer's Corner 61 02-01-2013 08:30 AM
Duokan and dictionaries floriano Kindle Developer's Corner 6 08-04-2012 09:52 AM
Does anyone have the 5-20 Duokan release? apastuszak Kindle Developer's Corner 2 06-03-2011 10:45 AM
Question for original kobo (with original firmware) users timlegge Kobo Reader 2 11-23-2010 09:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:40 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.