Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2011, 05:08 AM   #1
ghera
Junior Member
ghera began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: kindle
Calibre freezing in debian squeeze

Hello,

I have installed Calibre 0.8.11 on Debian Squeeze, using the binary install. Installation and setup wizard goes apparently fine (the calibre directory in $HOME/.config is created), the splash screen shows up, but then the program freezes. I never get to the main program window. Each time I launch calibre there are always two instances running (maybe right, I don't know). The output on terminal is:
--------------------------------------------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/ui.py", line 151, in load_store_plugins
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/ui.py", line 162, in init_istore
File "site-packages/calibre/customize/__init__.py", line 634, in load_actual_plugin
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/store/__init__.py", line 56, in __init__
File "site-packages/calibre/utils/config.py", line 241, in __init__
File "site-packages/calibre/utils/config.py", line 251, in refresh
File "genericpath.py", line 18, in exists
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode characters in position 44-48: ordinal not in range(128)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/main.py", line 260, in initialize
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/main.py", line 241, in initialize_db
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/main.py", line 210, in initialize_db_stage2
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/main.py", line 162, in start_gui
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/ui.py", line 128, in __init__
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/ui.py", line 151, in load_store_plugins
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/ui.py", line 162, in init_istore
File "site-packages/calibre/customize/__init__.py", line 634, in load_actual_plugin
File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/store/__init__.py", line 56, in __init__
File "site-packages/calibre/utils/config.py", line 241, in __init__
File "site-packages/calibre/utils/config.py", line 251, in refresh
File "genericpath.py", line 18, in exists
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode characters in position 44-48: ordinal not in range(128)
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Any idea what is going wrong?
The program is great and I would be very sorry to be forced to use the old version 0.7.7 bundled with squeeze.
Thank you very much
ghera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 07:57 AM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,737
Karma: 12488297
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
You're in luck. This is a known bug and should be fixed in today's 0.8.12 release.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 08-08-2011, 04:19 AM   #3
ghera
Junior Member
ghera began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: kindle
Thank you, for the quick answer and the great job. All works fine in the new release!
ghera is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
debian, installation problem, linux, squeeze

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Calibre and Debian Squeeze tolyluis Calibre 6 01-21-2012 08:25 AM
Calibre not starting on debian saturnblackhole Calibre 3 12-11-2011 12:05 AM
Install Calibre in Debian Lenny? erdalronahi Calibre 8 05-16-2010 12:49 AM
Calibre binary for Debian Lenny x64 Megatron-UK Calibre 1 01-30-2010 12:56 PM
How to build calibre in Debian Sid? tompe Calibre 10 05-06-2009 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.