Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2011, 12:46 PM   #1
MustJe
Junior Member
MustJe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: none
Pause/Resume

Just wondering if there was a way to pause/resume Calibre while it's in the process of adding books to it's library.
MustJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:42 PM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,573
Karma: 12369683
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
No .
DoctorOhh is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 07-16-2011, 01:58 PM   #3
CovCR
Junior Member
CovCR began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle
Actually, there is. Get SysInternals "Process Explorer". Sort by Process Name by clicking the column heading, browse to calibre, right-click and pause. Resume when ready.
CovCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:01 PM   #4
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,573
Karma: 12369683
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CovCR View Post
Actually, there is. Get SysInternals "Process Explorer". Sort by Process Name by clicking the column heading, browse to calibre, right-click and pause. Resume when ready.
Nice to know, but neither you or the OP indicated what OS is being used.
DoctorOhh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:13 PM   #5
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,705
Karma: 800144
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by CovCR View Post
Actually, there is. Get SysInternals "Process Explorer". Sort by Process Name by clicking the column heading, browse to calibre, right-click and pause. Resume when ready.
Note that pausing calibre in this way is dangerous. Calibre will almost certainly be paused in the middle of an operation. The database could be inconsistent, as could the file system. There is a significant probability that a system crash or shutdown during such a pause would make calibre's library unusable.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:45 AM   #6
MustJe
Junior Member
MustJe began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: none
Thanks for your help CovCR and chaley. dwanthny, the OS has no bearing on the program being capable of this action. Your first reply was correct and I thank you for it.
MustJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This Will Not Look Good on My Resume jass richards Self-Promotions by Authors and Publishers 3 06-03-2011 10:36 AM
Longer pause when going to previous page? KindleSte Amazon Kindle 7 02-18-2011 06:55 PM
Pause im Startvorgang bei Pocketbook 360 Idler PocketBook 5 05-25-2010 11:42 AM
So no sleep or suspend? How about RESUME? Asterra iRex 1 12-28-2007 01:55 PM
iRex is giving me pause...(small rant) drogo iRex 10 08-04-2006 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.