Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2011, 07:34 PM   #1
Mr. mister
Junior Member
Mr. mister began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Suddenly stopped working

I didn't install any updates or anything but when I got on today Calibre didn't work. I run Linuxmint 11

when I try to start from terminal I get this.
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/calibre", line 19, in <module>
    sys.exit(main())
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/gui2/main.py", line 362, in main
    app, opts, args, actions = init_qt(args)
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/gui2/main.py", line 43, in init_qt
    from calibre.gui2.ui import Main
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/gui2/ui.py", line 30, in <module>
    from calibre.gui2.widgets import ProgressIndicator
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/gui2/widgets.py", line 26, in <module>
    history = XMLConfig('history')
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/utils/config.py", line 579, in __init__
    self.refresh()
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/utils/config.py", line 590, in refresh
    with ExclusiveFile(self.file_path) as f:
  File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/utils/lock.py", line 113, in __enter__
    self.file  =  WindowsExclFile(self.path, self.timeout) if iswindows else open(self.path, 'a+b')
IOError: [Errno 5] Input/output error: '/home/jesse/.config/calibre/history.plist'
Also when I run as root it works... but I'd rather not have to make my library in root and take the trouble to run it like that every time I want to use the program.

Help?
Mr. mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 08:06 PM   #2
jgaiser
Omnivorous
jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jgaiser's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,852
Karma: 18749219
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rural NW Oregon
Device: Kindle GDX, Kindle 3, KPW, HD+(CyanogenMod)
Permissions? Owner? What does 'ls -l' of /home/jesse/.config/calibre show?
jgaiser is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 07-10-2011, 08:26 PM   #3
Mr. mister
Junior Member
Mr. mister began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle 3
I'm the owner. First thing I checked because I had the same problem with Sigil when I first installed it a few days ago. I've also already tried complete uninstall and reinstall from package manager and the binary installation from the Calibre site

ls -l gives me this
Quote:
total 116
drwxr-xr-x 2 jesse jesse 4096 2011-07-06 23:53 conversion
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 539 2011-07-10 16:04 dynamic.pickle
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 2051 2011-07-10 16:04 global.py
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 2583 2011-07-10 16:04 gui.json
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 4817 2011-07-10 16:04 gui.py
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 0 2011-07-10 16:04 history.plist
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 609 2011-07-07 23:50 iterator.pickle
drwx------ 2 jesse jesse 4096 2011-07-10 18:15 metadata_sources
drwx------ 2 jesse jesse 4096 2011-05-26 22:19 plugins
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 470 2011-05-26 22:26 smtp.py
-rw-r--r-- 1 jesse jesse 17312 2011-05-26 22:19 tweaks.py
Mr. mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,609
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
do those PY files need have the x flag set?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:06 PM   #5
Mr. mister
Junior Member
Mr. mister began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle 3
@theducks I don't know but I set them all to executable and Calibre still won't start (changed them back)
Mr. mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:28 PM   #6
jgaiser
Omnivorous
jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jgaiser's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,852
Karma: 18749219
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rural NW Oregon
Device: Kindle GDX, Kindle 3, KPW, HD+(CyanogenMod)
Interesting... Basically matches my directory listing and my .py files are not executable. Curiouser and curiouser...
jgaiser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:33 PM   #7
Mr. mister
Junior Member
Mr. mister began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Ya it's really strange... could it be the history file? that's where the error was in the terminal.

Code:
IOError: [Errno 5] Input/output error: '/home/jesse/.config/calibre/history.plist'
it also gives me an input/output error when I try to change the properties on that file.

Edit: Does it pull from the same directory when using as root? because like it said it'll open as administrator

Last edited by Mr. mister; 07-10-2011 at 09:35 PM. Reason: afterthought
Mr. mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:40 PM   #8
jgaiser
Omnivorous
jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jgaiser ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jgaiser's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,852
Karma: 18749219
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rural NW Oregon
Device: Kindle GDX, Kindle 3, KPW, HD+(CyanogenMod)
Hmm...?? Your listing shows a 'zero' size for the file. Can you remove it? As root?

Doesn't seem to be required. Just moved mine out of the directory and Calibre starts up just fine.
jgaiser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:47 PM   #9
Mr. mister
Junior Member
Mr. mister began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Yay! It works now. So happy I don't even mind thinking feeling like an idiot for not thinking of that in the first place.
Thanks man!
Mr. mister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-505 Library books suddenly not working? Lirael Sony Reader 2 05-19-2011 11:52 AM
ADE suddenly stopped working? suecsi Reading and Management 5 11-03-2010 01:53 PM
ADE suddenly stopped working? suecsi PDF 2 10-26-2010 02:45 PM
Kindle 1 suddenly not working! curiositykt Amazon Kindle 6 03-11-2010 09:15 AM
Stopped working? pshrynk Calibre 8 02-14-2009 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.