Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2011, 10:30 AM   #16
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
Installed! Now running: bzr branch lp:calibre and could take a few minutes.

Do I need to get a Launchpad ID?
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:31 AM   #17
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer
user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
user_none's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,428
Karma: 950001
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Device: Nook STR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agama View Post
Do I need to get a Launchpad ID?
Only if you're going to push your changes to your own Launchpad branch. Basically if your goal is to have your changes accepted into calibre itself then you will want to do this.
user_none is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 07-17-2011, 10:32 AM   #18
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,926
Karma: 802238
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agama View Post
Do I need to get a Launchpad ID?
Only if you want to submit revisions to Kovid by 'push'ing them to a branch on launchpad. Many people submit changes by email, which works fine for low volumes and small changes.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:36 AM   #19
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
I'm planning on starting with plugins.

By the way, where do all the files go that "bzr branch lp:calibre" is busy downloading? (On a Windows 7 system).
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:45 AM   #20
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,926
Karma: 802238
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agama View Post
I'm planning on starting with plugins.

By the way, where do all the files go that "bzr branch lp:calibre" is busy downloading? (On a Windows 7 system).
Are you using the command line? Then IIRC the branch is a subdirectory of the command box's current directory. If you didn't change it, then it is probably your windows directory.

You can move the created directory.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:04 AM   #21
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
I just opened a command prompt and typed the command. The command prompt's path is C:\User\username so I guess that's where it's going. Can I just cut and paste it to somewhere else or does Bazaar need to know about its location? On my start menu I now have a Bazaar Explorer. Will this be any use?

There is now a C:\User\username\calibre\.bzr folder with a few sub-folders but no significant volume of data, despite the bzr command having already downloaded over 240MB of data. Any estimate on how much it will download?

Last edited by Agama; 07-17-2011 at 11:08 AM.
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:09 AM   #22
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,926
Karma: 802238
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agama View Post
I just opened a command prompt and typed the command. The command prompt's path is C:\User\username so I guess that's where it's going. Can I just cut and paste it to somewhere else or does Bazaar need to know about its location?
You can move the directory that bzr created (probably 'calibre' -- the one containing the 'src' folder). Don't mess with the structure inside 'calibre'.
Quote:
On my start menu I now have a Bazaar Explorer. Will this be any use?
Depends on you. I use the explorer almost exclusively. Others never touch it.

It might be better to stay with the command line until you understand what bzr is doing. That will help avoid surprises. It is also what most people here are willing/able to help with, and what is documented in the calibre development pages.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 11:11 AM   #23
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,926
Karma: 802238
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agama View Post
There is now a C:\User\username\calibre\.bzr folder with a few sub-folders but no significant volume of data, despite the bzr command having already downloaded over 240MB of data. Any estimate on how much it will download?
Bzr downloads the repository, then recreates the source tree from that. You won't see any sources until it is very close to finished. IIRC, a new repository download is in excess of 300MB, and growing all the time.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:05 PM   #24
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
After nearly 500MB this has finished and created a src folder with these sub-folders:

calibre, cherrypy, odf, pyPDF, routes and templite, (?but no python sub-folder?)

Can I move this whole src folder to a different location, or just move the src/calibre folder?

I now need to get up to speed in Python and then I'll try to rewrite my VBScript eBook scripts as calibre plugins.
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:08 PM   #25
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,926
Karma: 802238
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
You move the folder containing .bzr, src, icons, resources, etc. This should be named 'calibre'.

Also, check if there is a .bzr file in the parent folder (\users\username\.bzr). If there is one there, then you created a shared repository. In this case you must create a folder somewhere, then move both the .bzr and the calibre folders to that new folder.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:26 PM   #26
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
There's just a \users\username\calibre folder, containing .bzr, icons, resources etc. so I'll move this. There is no\users\username\.bzr folder.

Should there be a Python sub-folder somewhere in this structure? The Bazaar installer mentioned a bundled Python 2.6 interpreter.

Is there a document describing the various sub-folders of the calibre source, (customize, db, gui2, library etc.)?
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:28 PM   #27
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
How do I keep this source code up to date with each calibre release?
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:38 PM   #28
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,926
Karma: 802238
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agama View Post
Should there be a Python sub-folder somewhere in this structure? The Bazaar installer mentioned a bundled Python 2.6 interpreter.
There is no python subfolder. Python is bundled with the calibre binary, which you must install as well. You will test by setting the environment variable as documented, then using calibre-debug -g to start using your source.

However, as you are building plugins, there is no particular reason to run from source. You could start the normal calibre, then install and test the plugin. Perhaps someone who does more plugin development will provide some best-practice hints.
Quote:
Is there a document describing the various sub-folders of the calibre source, (customize, db, gui2, library etc.)?
No.

Almost certainly the only folders you are interested in are src/calibre and resources.
Quote:
How do I keep this source code up to date with each calibre release?
Assuming you are not making changes to the calibre source, cd to the calibre folder (the one containing src) and run bzr pull. That will grab the newest source. If you are making changes, then you will need to commit those changes (bzr commit) then merge the changes from launchpad (bzr merge).
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 12:46 PM   #29
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
Thanks for all the help, it's been much appreciated!
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:55 PM   #30
Agama
Guru
Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Agama ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Agama's Avatar
 
Posts: 637
Karma: 436517
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Device: PRS-300, PW2
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaley View Post
However, as you are building plugins, there is no particular reason to run from source. You could start the normal calibre, then install and test the plugin. Perhaps someone who does more plugin development will provide some best-practice hints.
Before I start on a plugin I am learning Python from the "Dive into Python" book. I have downloaded the sample .py files but I can't work out how to run one. Double-clicking just opens it in my text editor, so do I need to make a new association for .py files or is there a way to run one from a command prompt?
Agama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IQ Is the IQ open source? alexish PocketBook 1 01-30-2011 07:22 PM
Open Source? cipri PocketBook 6 11-10-2010 04:04 PM
Open source bradrice Kindle Formats 2 12-21-2009 09:30 AM
Open source lrs2lrf kovidgoyal LRF 14 07-25-2008 09:17 PM
TrueCrypt V2.0 Open-Source Alexander Turcic Lounge 1 06-21-2004 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.