Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2011, 05:33 PM   #1
jcm92128
Junior Member
jcm92128 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Kindle3
Calibre Not Updating to Version 0.8.8

I have been using Calibre for several months and love it.

However, I seem to be stuck on Version 0.8.3 even though I have tried several times to download more recent versions, including today with version 0.8.8.

I am running Windows 7 on a PC with IE9. The IE page indicates that I have Calibre version 0.8.8 downloading properly, but it does not update to Calibre 0.8.8, even when I reboot.

Help!!!!

Jim Melton
jcm92128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 05:41 PM   #2
transmitthis
Addict
transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.transmitthis ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
transmitthis's Avatar
 
Posts: 285
Karma: 1003542
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Google Nexus 7 16GB
What does Calibre say in the lower part of the program?

If its not 0.8.8 go download and install it.

PS, chrome is my browser of choice at present.


edit - your not expecting it to auto install are you? = clicking on upgrade when the popup from calibre appears, just directs you to the website to download the file, not show you what version you have.

Just download
http://status.calibre-ebook.com/dist/win32


then just install, over the old one is fine as I understand

Last edited by transmitthis; 07-01-2011 at 05:45 PM.
transmitthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 05:42 PM   #3
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,103
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Is there an asterisk displayed after the version number at the bottom of the screen? If so that indicates that you are running from source and source always takes precedence over binaries.

If you are not running from source then it suggests that you might have multiple copies of Calibre isntalled and are running the wrong one!
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 05:45 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,244
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcm92128 View Post
I have been using Calibre for several months and love it.

However, I seem to be stuck on Version 0.8.3 even though I have tried several times to download more recent versions, including today with version 0.8.8.

I am running Windows 7 on a PC with IE9. The IE page indicates that I have Calibre version 0.8.8 downloading properly, but it does not update to Calibre 0.8.8, even when I reboot.

Help!!!!

Jim Melton
Did you shutdow Calibre befor updating?
Did you launch the 'update (MSI file)' after downloading?
Installing from a downloaded MSI works fine on W7.

One last thing:
disable your A/V while updating (and check the A/V log. It may have +fixed+ your file IMHO set your A/V to always ASK. )
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install prior version of Calibre when newer version installed? SilentSeven Calibre 3 04-13-2011 01:46 PM
Updating to a new version Berni Calibre 1 01-01-2011 03:35 AM
Version Updating - what exactly does it entail? Philippe Lemay Calibre 4 09-02-2010 04:39 AM
How do I / Can I backup my current firmware before updating to a new version? jusmee Astak EZReader 1 11-05-2009 02:09 AM
should calibre_postinstall be run when just updating to new version? ould Calibre 1 12-08-2008 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.