Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2011, 05:30 PM   #1
DrChiper
Bookish
DrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it is
 
DrChiper's Avatar
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 2358
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: pc, prs-600, prs-t1, prs-t2, prs-t3, nexus 7
Calibre 0.8.7: E-Book viewer is missing search field

I was using the calibre e-book viewer and by accident I right-clicked at the top, near the search field. Some pop-up appeared with 2 options, one of them invisible. I think I must have clicked on one of those options, as thereafter the complete search field (and other fields) went away and stayed away.

Closing the viewer and restarting did not help. I cannot find any option to make them appear again: not in the viewer options, not in the calibre preferences. Issueing Ctrl-F didn't work anymore.

Beside re-installing, is there a simple cure for this?
DrChiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:39 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,987
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Can you post a screenshot of your viewer window.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 06-30-2011, 05:46 PM   #3
DrChiper
Bookish
DrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it is
 
DrChiper's Avatar
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 2358
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: pc, prs-600, prs-t1, prs-t2, prs-t3, nexus 7
I have added a viewer picture as attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	175.5 KB
ID:	73588  
DrChiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:51 PM   #4
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,699
Karma: 5643643
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrChiper View Post
I was using the calibre e-book viewer and by accident I right-clicked at the top, near the search field. Some pop-up appeared with 2 options, one of them invisible. I think I must have clicked on one of those options, as thereafter the complete search field (and other fields) went away and stayed away.

Closing the viewer and restarting did not help. I cannot find any option to make them appear again: not in the viewer options, not in the calibre preferences. Issueing Ctrl-F didn't work anymore.

Beside re-installing, is there a simple cure for this?
Somehow you managed to lose/misplace the Search toolbar.
Note: you can drag the tool bar(s) using the ribbed 'handle' at the start to locations at the top or Left side and Calibre will leave them there.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 05:59 PM   #5
DrChiper
Bookish
DrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it is
 
DrChiper's Avatar
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 2358
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: pc, prs-600, prs-t1, prs-t2, prs-t3, nexus 7
The bar with the search field is normally not moveable. It went away after some pop-up menu option was activated
DrChiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:00 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,987
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Its possible you dragged the bar outside the viewer window, in which case it will be hanging around on your desktop. Try minimizing all your windows except the viewer and look for it.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:01 PM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,987
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrChiper View Post
The bar with the search field is normally not moveable. It went away after some pop-up menu option was activated
The bar is movable, and as far as I know, it has no popup menus attached to it. In fact right clicking on it, brings up nothing for me.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:06 PM   #8
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,987
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You can restore all the viewer prefs to defaults by going to Preferences->Miscellaneous in the calibre preferences click open config directory and deleting the file viewer.json
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:21 PM   #9
DrChiper
Bookish
DrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it is
 
DrChiper's Avatar
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 2358
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: pc, prs-600, prs-t1, prs-t2, prs-t3, nexus 7
Removing the viewer.json file did the trick. But I have been able to recreate the situation (see attachment). It is however rather difficult to get it again by right-clicking somewhere on the location where it is shown.

Thanks for the help so-far!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	80
Size:	6.6 KB
ID:	73589  
DrChiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 06:45 PM   #10
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,699
Karma: 5643643
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrChiper View Post
Removing the viewer.json file did the trick. But I have been able to recreate the situation (see attachment). It is however rather difficult to get it again by right-clicking somewhere on the location where it is shown.

Thanks for the help so-far!
What OS and version is that?
I can click till the cows come home in XP and no menu
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:03 PM   #11
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,987
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Where exactly are you clicking? From the screenshot it looks like you clicked on the title bar. That does not bring up the same menu for me.

Last edited by kovidgoyal; 06-30-2011 at 07:07 PM.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 02:25 AM   #12
DrChiper
Bookish
DrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it is
 
DrChiper's Avatar
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 2358
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: pc, prs-600, prs-t1, prs-t2, prs-t3, nexus 7
I'm using Win7 64 bit. I right-clicked just below the title bar on the moveable (indeed, you can reposition it as I just discovered :-) bar not far from the spot of the pop-up. I agree it is a bit difficult to reproduce, but I managed to do it several times, hence the snapshot as proof.

I don't think the average user will ever encounter it as it seems to be a very rare situation, and I was just unlucky to find it.
DrChiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:08 AM   #13
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,987
Karma: 5036765
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Are you sure you're running calibre 0.8.7? In the main calibre interface, look at the version number near the bottom. The menu you are describing is explicitly disabled in current calibre code.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:29 AM   #14
mwheinz
award-winning bozo
mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.mwheinz can grok the meaning of the universe.
 
Posts: 240
Karma: 157113
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Philadelphia
Device: Nook Color
I just tried this since I'm running Win7 64-bit; I cannot make this happen.

Dr. Chipper - do you have your own version of Python installed? Maybe the viewer is running under a different version than what comes with Calibre?
mwheinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 09:29 AM   #15
DrChiper
Bookish
DrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it isDrChiper knows what time it is
 
DrChiper's Avatar
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 2358
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: pc, prs-600, prs-t1, prs-t2, prs-t3, nexus 7
I'm pretty sure it's calibre 0.8.7 (see attachment). Further, it seems my version (which I picked up and installed yesterday) is very problematic. It just crashed for the second time during a field edit (title field)...

Faulting application name: calibre.exe, version: 0.8.7.0, time stamp: 0x4e050eaf
Faulting module name: python27.dll, version: 2.7.1150.1013, time stamp: 0x4cf1405f
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00001632
Faulting process id: 0xd60
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc37db0e5ff542
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2\calibre.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2\DLLs\python27.dll
Report Id: a116a608-a3e4-11e0-a19c-d55cd5986d11

Fault bucket 2501922651, type 1
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: calibre.exe
P2: 0.8.7.0
P3: 4e050eaf
P4: python27.dll
P5: 2.7.1150.1013
P6: 4cf1405f
P7: c0000005
P8: 00001632
P9:
P10:

I think I'm going back to version 0.8.6 which worked fine without any problems. Unless you have some idea's I can test?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	55
Size:	15.0 KB
ID:	73604  
DrChiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RegExp in search field Format C: Library Management 4 06-13-2011 11:00 AM
Clearing the search history in the E-book Viewer mijugama Library Management 1 04-17-2011 12:56 PM
Calibre E-book Viewer available separately ? hungryghosts Calibre 6 03-30-2011 07:27 AM
Set Calibre e-book viewer as default Huisie Library Management 12 03-11-2011 08:53 PM
Functions missing in Calibre viewer? amannuc Calibre 3 04-10-2010 06:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.