Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2011, 03:46 AM   #1
gandor62
Connoisseur
gandor62 began at the beginning.
 
gandor62's Avatar
 
Posts: 99
Karma: 14
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane Australia
Device: iPod Touch, Ipad, Kindle 2
Add a book from another computer running calibre server

Hi All

Is there a way for my computer to be running Calibre with content server on and another computer in another location running calibre able to add a book to its library from the origional Calibre Server via the web.

The first Calibre server is unattended so cant email from it, but a document,pdf or ebook may get added, and I want to conect to it, to add the item to my Calibre on the remote laptop. I can get it to my mobile device without a problem, but want it on my laptop, stored in calibre library so was hoping Calibre can access another library via the Web and add the Doc.

Whew....

Hope I am clear enough.
gandor62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:42 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,094
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
No - what you describe cannot be done.

However you could simply download the book from the remote content server via a browser and then add that to your local Calibre library. Is there a problem doing this that was not mentioned in your orginal question?
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 06-29-2011, 12:24 PM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,086
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by gandor62 View Post
Hi All

Is there a way for my computer to be running Calibre with content server on and another computer in another location running calibre able to add a book to its library from the origional Calibre Server via the web.

The first Calibre server is unattended so cant email from it, but a document,pdf or ebook may get added, and I want to conect to it, to add the item to my Calibre on the remote laptop. I can get it to my mobile device without a problem, but want it on my laptop, stored in calibre library so was hoping Calibre can access another library via the Web and add the Doc.

Whew....

Hope I am clear enough.
(Tight)VNC allows you to remote control Windows or Linux(GUI) .
Remote Desktop Connection ( running on Windows Pro versions) allows featured control from Windows or Linux.
Both solutions require opening a port on you servers router with the added care to well secure your system properly. Both solutions are free or a 1 time (windows upgrade) charge)

GotoMyPC (fee to use) and others get past the router config issue by using a connection client outside your firewall to establish the link.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Howto: Running Calibre Content server on Windows Startup sherman Calibre 13 03-01-2013 04:47 PM
Running Calibre content server as a service mathia Related Tools 31 07-04-2011 10:34 AM
Calibre-Server - Ubuntu 10.10 - Running but not serving dcmarquardt Calibre 10 04-05-2011 08:33 PM
Running Calibre on Terminal Server JeffAlan66 Calibre 2 08-12-2010 03:00 PM
Trouble running calibre-server ould Calibre 0 04-16-2010 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.