Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Development

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2013, 06:08 PM   #1
Pr.BarnArt
Groupie
Pr.BarnArt began at the beginning.
 
Pr.BarnArt's Avatar
 
Posts: 170
Karma: 34
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: Pocketbook 902 / Ipad2
QT dialog osX

Hey,

I wrote a metadataplugin (BOL_NL) with a qtdialog popping up, if there were no matches, showing the rejected titles.
Under windows no problems.

Running in osX (snow leopard) gives troubles.
Starting from terminal calibre-debug -e __some code: the dialog is shown and the debuginfo is printed in the terminal.

Starting form terminal with the gui ( calibre-debug -g), the dialog doesnot show up at all, nore is the debug-information printed in the terminal.
In the terminal only a few messeages appear:
“QCocoaView handleTabletEvent: This tablet device is unknown (received no proximity event for it). Discarding event.” when on the first time I click a button inside calibre. (even when my plugin is not installed).

I am not familiar with osX , and I am not that good with python and qt .
Do I need some extra settings to get the output printed and the dialog shown? I am stuck at the moment, so any help or hint is appreciated.
Pr.BarnArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
GRiker
Comparer of the Ephemeris
GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,497
Karma: 424627
Join Date: Mar 2009
Device: iPad
Do you have a Wacom tablet or mouse installed? I remember that Qt seems to have conflicts with the Wacom driver under OS X. See this thread.

G
GRiker is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 08-26-2013, 06:38 PM   #3
Pr.BarnArt
Groupie
Pr.BarnArt began at the beginning.
 
Pr.BarnArt's Avatar
 
Posts: 170
Karma: 34
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: Pocketbook 902 / Ipad2
Quote:
Originally Posted by GRiker View Post
Do you have a Wacom tablet or mouse installed? I remember that Qt seems to have conflicts with the Wacom driver under OS X. See this thread.

G
No,
I am running osX with vmware, no extra devices.
I am not sure if the errormessages from cacoa are related to my troubles.
I have received several messages from users that under osX the dialog is not shown.
Pr.BarnArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 11:38 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,349
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
metadata plugins run in their own thread. In Qt you are not allowed to use the GUI in threads other than the main GUI thread. So you should not use any Qt code in your plugin.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:50 AM   #5
Pr.BarnArt
Groupie
Pr.BarnArt began at the beginning.
 
Pr.BarnArt's Avatar
 
Posts: 170
Karma: 34
Join Date: Jun 2011
Device: Pocketbook 902 / Ipad2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
metadata plugins run in their own thread. In Qt you are not allowed to use the GUI in threads other than the main GUI thread. So you should not use any Qt code in your plugin.
Ty, clear answer. Sometimes it is better to asked for answer.
Is this only related to osX, because under windows the dialog is popping up (without problems).
Pr.BarnArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 12:26 AM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,349
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It can cause problems in any OS. The fact that it works in windows is likely an accident, you should not rely on it.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dialog Question VydorScope Writers' Corner 17 08-04-2013 07:03 PM
Help with dialog... VydorScope Writers' Corner 9 06-14-2013 10:57 PM
New 'Get books' dialog elleryq Development 4 02-21-2013 02:37 AM
New preferences dialog kovidgoyal Calibre 22 09-07-2010 02:04 PM
A dialog with Borders Taylor514ce Sony Reader 45 06-20-2008 12:04 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.