Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Sigil

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2011, 04:34 PM   #1
isabelle1231
Junior Member
isabelle1231 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: none
search replace puts \1(space) in text

I use Sigil to fix broken paragraphs. This without problems for some months. But lately I always the problem that sigil puts \1(space) in the text

Example text that needs fixing:

thought as</p>

<p class="calibre2">the shuttle

My result lately :

thought a\1 the shuttle

I use the following settings:
Find : [(a-z)]</p>\s+<p class="calibre2">
Replace: \1(space)
Match whole word only is unchecked and not highlighted
Match case is checked
Minimal matching is checked
Regular expression is checked
Direction All is checked

I've no problem in finding what I want to change but don't know why Sigil puts the result:

thought a\1 the shuttle

instead of

thought as the shuttle

I've been searching for some time now but I can't find what I need to change.
isabelle1231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 04:40 PM   #2
Toxaris
Wizard
Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Toxaris ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Toxaris's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,962
Karma: 3427611
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Heemskerk, NL
Device: PRS-300, PRS-T1
Change your find string:

([(a-z)])</p>\s+<p class="calibre2">

The parenthesis indicate that these entries need to be maintained. That is what the \1 refers to and will be replaced by.
Toxaris is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 05-21-2011, 04:46 PM   #3
isabelle1231
Junior Member
isabelle1231 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2009
Device: none
Thanks it worked. It was so simple. It is something that I won't forget anymore.
isabelle1231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
search and replace - drops blanks in replace ? cybmole Conversion 10 03-13-2011 03:07 AM
Search & replace TEXT ToeRag Calibre 3 04-10-2010 01:44 PM
Search and replace in 0.2.0 paulpeer Sigil 7 03-13-2010 11:59 AM
Google Book Search to search full-text books online Bob Russell Deals, Freebies, and Resources (No Self-Promotion) 1 08-19-2006 12:13 PM
Software puts text from the web on a variety of devices Brian News 1 10-13-2005 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.