Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2011, 03:40 PM   #1
rogue_librarian
Guru
rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rogue_librarian's Avatar
 
Posts: 973
Karma: 4269175
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Europe
Device: Pocketbook Basic 613
Default value for custom columns?

I am sorry if this is an easy one, or I did miss it somehow. I have added a few custom columns with a fixed set of permitted valued and it helpfully says "Default: (nothing)". Any idea how I would set a default? Many thanks in advance. Using 0.8.1.
rogue_librarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:13 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You can set the default by going to preferences->add your own column and editing that column.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:24 PM   #3
rogue_librarian
Guru
rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rogue_librarian's Avatar
 
Posts: 973
Karma: 4269175
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Europe
Device: Pocketbook Basic 613
Sorry, perhaps I'm just blind (or dense), but this leaves me with the "Values" field where I can specify the permitted valued but have no obvious way to make Calibre use one of these by default for new entries.

To give you a real world example I am using a "language" column with the values of "English,French,German". Just about 90% of my books will be in English, so Calibre should automatically use "English" for any new book.

Last edited by rogue_librarian; 05-18-2011 at 04:26 PM.
rogue_librarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:32 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,617
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Ah, my mistake, then I'm afraid there is no way to specify a default that I know of.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 04:36 PM   #5
rogue_librarian
Guru
rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rogue_librarian ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rogue_librarian's Avatar
 
Posts: 973
Karma: 4269175
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Europe
Device: Pocketbook Basic 613
Thank you very much for clarifying. It's not a biggie, I suppose the "Default: (nothing)" just threw me off ...
rogue_librarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:43 PM   #6
Hoghead
Junior Member
Hoghead began at the beginning.
 
Hoghead's Avatar
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Kindle, Galaxy Tab
Lightbulb A possible solution

I was also looking for this, for the same purpose. I'm using a custom column, language, and want to default it on new books.

I remembered there is an option to add tags when adding new books, for example, I always add a NEW tag for new books, so I can filter them for final approval with my FORMATTED column when I get around to it.

What about coming up with some language tags, and just abandon the custom column. For example, _English or something like that. Then use the same syntax for other languages so they are all nice and neat in your tag browser.

Use the tag browser or query for books in the language you are seeking.

Just a thought!

Jason
Hoghead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Columns - How are you using yours? nynaevelan Library Management 19 04-18-2011 12:42 AM
Custom Columns Question Greg Waddell Calibre 5 03-31-2011 12:34 AM
0.7.46 and custom columns meme Library Management 4 02-21-2011 04:21 AM
Managing Custom Columns ddjohn Library Management 3 02-19-2011 10:42 AM
Custom Columns - the Future? Starson17 Calibre 2 07-13-2010 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.