Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-17-2011, 09:34 AM   #1
skells
Junior Member
skells began at the beginning.
 
skells's Avatar
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Nook
Folder case change

Is there any way to prevent Calibre from changing the case of the library folders when book metadata is updated? Since Calibre is case insensitive I wouldn't think it would matter, but the case issue is wreaking havoc while trying to share my library between Mac and Linux over dropbox. I am using the mounted FAT filesystem work around on Linux, but it's ugly.

Thanks!
skells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:38 AM   #2
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,010
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Calibre IS case sensitive as far as the file system is concerned - it is Windows that is not (at least by default). There has been a lot of work done in Calibre to try and get the case correct on Windows systems.

I have no problems sharing my Calibre library between a Linux system and a Windows 7 system.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 02:04 PM   #3
skells
Junior Member
skells began at the beginning.
 
skells's Avatar
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Nook
The issue that I'm running into is mostly a dropbox problem, not Calibre's but if I can change the storage settings then I can get around it. A common scenario is if I add a book on my Linux machine and the title is lowercase then it replicates out as such. When I correct the case of the title Calibre will update the file system but dropbox thinks that folder already exists so it creates conflicts.

Or, if I do the same process on my Mac I can get similar conflicts, but with a case-insensitive file system it gets changed back to the original case. On the Mac, Calibre doesn't care but when launching on Linux it can't find those books since it is looking for a specific case.

If anyone has any ideas around this it would be appreciated.
skells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 02:24 PM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,010
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
A way around this is do a double rename. First time around add an extra character to the name (e.g. an X) and correct the case for the part you intend to keep. After that remove the X and do another rename. As the name changes you will avoid the conflict you mentioned. A bit laborious, but it will work. This is what I used to do when Calibre did not handle case changes on Windows very well.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
library, linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving library folder outside calibre - than change within. myle00 Calibre 6 08-16-2011 07:08 AM
Change Send to Device Folder?? bucketheadmn Devices 9 03-27-2011 04:22 PM
Want to change the folder structure of the Calibre library? Manichean Library Management 0 01-30-2011 10:51 AM
Change the folder where News are sent Walkmancho Calibre 0 07-07-2010 01:22 AM
How do I change the default folder? johnwhelan Calibre 2 08-07-2009 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.