Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2011, 05:57 AM   #1
kapsi
Member
kapsi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 22
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle 3
PATH variable in Windows

Calibre changed my %path% variable in Windows 7 x64 SP1. Now it's just "C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2\" and i can't run Windows command line tools...is this supposed to happen?
kapsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:27 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,870
Karma: 5654321
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapsi View Post
Calibre changed my %path% variable in Windows 7 x64 SP1. Now it's just "C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2\" and i can't run Windows command line tools...is this supposed to happen?
I don't think so

I Just got a brand new Toshiba (my first W7 machine) and (default) installed .8.1

The path was appended to the end of the PATH.
Something in your prior Path may have been trashy and got discarded in the add.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:54 AM   #3
CRussel
Wizard
CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CRussel ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
CRussel's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,662
Karma: 30303932
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast, BC
Device: Kindle PW, Fire HDX 8.9, Fire HD8.9, Fire 7HD, Surface 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapsi View Post
Calibre changed my %path% variable in Windows 7 x64 SP1. Now it's just "C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2\" and i can't run Windows command line tools...is this supposed to happen?
Pretty unlikely that it trashed your PATH variable, but certainly it's easy to fix.
  • Right Click on Computer in the Start Menu
  • Select Advanced System Settings in the left pane
  • Click Environment Variables
  • Select Path in the System Variables pane, and click Edit
  • Enter your desired path. A typical Win7 x64 one might be:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoo t%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Shared;%systemroot%\System32\WindowsPowerShel l\v1.0\;.C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2\

Disclaimer: While the path shown above is basic and should work for many people, it doesn't include any application specific items that you may have, other than the Windows Live paths.
CRussel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:12 PM   #4
kapsi
Member
kapsi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 22
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
I don't think so

I Just got a brand new Toshiba (my first W7 machine) and (default) installed .8.1

The path was appended to the end of the PATH.
Something in your prior Path may have been trashy and got discarded in the add.
I dunno. All I know is I couldn't run ping, checked the thing, and the only value in there was the path to Calibre installation.

CRussel: thanks.
kapsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Library name as calibre template variable mdb5972 Calibre 6 01-15-2011 03:09 PM
Variable position / anchor for images? jharker ePub 1 08-31-2010 04:40 AM
remove PDF footer containing variable? irisclara Calibre 10 03-06-2010 10:53 PM
Calibre in Windows path banjomike Calibre 13 09-04-2009 12:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.