Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2011, 05:55 PM   #1
fooeynet
Junior Member
fooeynet began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle3
Calibre and 'System' process on Windows

With the latest version of Calibre (0.7.59), I thought that I was hanging/freezing on startup, as the CPU process for calibre.exe was sitting at zero without anything happening (no splashscreen, etc.).

I did notice, however, that the windows 'System' process was taking almost 100% of the CPU. Used Process Explorer to see if anything looked odd, and noticed that the System process was continually opening and closing the pylib.zip file in the Calibre folder. Has anyone else experienced this?

Calibre did eventually open after 3-4 minutes, but even after I closed it and the process exited, System process was still opening/closing a handle to pylib.zip.
fooeynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:00 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,435
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Try disabling your antivirus temporarily.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:16 PM   #3
fooeynet
Junior Member
fooeynet began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2011
Device: Kindle3
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Try disabling your antivirus temporarily.
Wasn't able to do that (corporate environment), but was able to create an exclusion for that specific file.

fooeynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 02:29 AM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,104
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
It can help if you exclude the whole of the Calibre install folder (and sub-folders) from AV checking.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improvements to Windows installation process Manichean Devices 5 03-26-2011 06:46 PM
Calibre Internal Process While Updating Evilwarning Calibre 13 12-17-2010 05:26 PM
Suddenly Calibre can't process html saxondawg Calibre 10 09-12-2010 04:20 PM
Freeware system tools for Windows TadW Lounge 0 04-27-2005 11:54 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.