Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > Reading Recommendations

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2013, 07:23 AM   #136
MikeOxlittle
Say my name very fast ...
MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.MikeOxlittle ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
MikeOxlittle's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Karma: 1387009
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The High Seas
Device: Kindle


Should this be required reading in high schools?

Easily accessible with tons of info. I like how Mr. Bryson just gives us enough info on a topic to get us interested then moves onto the next subject.

I'd done a lot of Googling on various subjects, theories, people etc. listed in this book.
MikeOxlittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:22 AM   #137
KentE
...still a Zealot
KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.KentE ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 241
Karma: 312573
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Device: Palm Pixi & PC
Ready Player One by Ernie Cline. I won't go into a lot of plot detail-- there's another discussion thread on this forum about it.
Great mix of a distopian setting, an epic struggle, and an innocent and touching young adult romance. I started it with some trepidation, since it has a major focus on video games of the 1970's. Although I was around and of the appropriate age, I didn't play video games, and was only aware of a few of the game references. Didn't make any difference, and I loved the book anyway.
Highly recommended for young adults (who also won't be aware of the referenced games, most likely, and I don't think it was written for the young adult market), since it's a great morality tale (in the vein of Shrek or The Princess Bride)-- and I think it won some Young Adult award, as well.
It's Cline's first book-- I'll grab the next as soon as I see it!
KentE
KentE is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My book just got a five star review! submarine670 Writers' Corner 2 07-20-2009 04:31 PM
star trek book recommendations bxrLvr Reading Recommendations 28 06-03-2009 04:13 PM
Some disappointing Star Trek e-book news Kane News 21 03-23-2008 11:12 AM
December Star Trek e-book sale Bob Russell Deals, Freebies, and Resources (No Self-Promotion) 10 12-19-2006 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.