Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2011, 04:32 AM   #1
nsivakr
Junior Member
nsivakr began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle
How do I update Calibre to the latest version?

Hi,

I clicked on the link next to Update Found: 0.7.57 and it comes up with a message that Calibre has been updated to version 0.7.57.

However, at the bottom (Status bar), still shows calibre version 0.7.55 created by Kovid Goyal.

Please suggest how do I update the calibre to the latest version?

Thanks

SN
nsivakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:41 AM   #2
Kiwimick
Addict
Kiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five words
 
Kiwimick's Avatar
 
Posts: 211
Karma: 37308
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London UK
Device: Sony PRS650
HI There should be a link at the bottom right to click on that will take you to the download site.
When you get to the site close the calibre you have open before downloading
Kiwimick is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 04-23-2011, 04:45 AM   #3
nsivakr
Junior Member
nsivakr began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: Kindle
But that link, downloads the entire Calibre. This is the link, I got
http://calibre-ebook.com/download_windows

It downloads, the entire 37 MB file. Is that correct?
nsivakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:48 AM   #4
CazMar
Book Geek
CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.CazMar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 591
Karma: 1499085
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Device: IRiver Story HD, Google Nexus 7" tablet, Galaxy Nexus, Asus 1005HA
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsivakr View Post
But that link, downloads the entire Calibre. This is the link, I got
http://calibre-ebook.com/download_windows

It downloads, the entire 37 MB file. Is that correct?
Yes - that is correct. However when you load the new file it keeps all of your library and other information correctly.
CazMar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:49 AM   #5
Kiwimick
Addict
Kiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five words
 
Kiwimick's Avatar
 
Posts: 211
Karma: 37308
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London UK
Device: Sony PRS650
Sorry didnt read properly.............. You need to click on box that says Get Update click on that and it will take you to the download site which it does through IE
Kiwimick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:53 AM   #6
Kiwimick
Addict
Kiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five wordsKiwimick can name that ebook in five words
 
Kiwimick's Avatar
 
Posts: 211
Karma: 37308
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London UK
Device: Sony PRS650
HI just too slow at typing hope you are sorted now
Kiwimick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:42 PM   #7
rdfry
loving the books
rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rdfry's Avatar
 
Posts: 320
Karma: 17580000
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Device: Rooted Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsivakr View Post
Hi,

I clicked on the link next to Update Found: 0.7.57 and it comes up with a message that Calibre has been updated to version 0.7.57.

However, at the bottom (Status bar), still shows calibre version 0.7.55 created by Kovid Goyal.

Please suggest how do I update the calibre to the latest version?

Thanks

SN
You need to restart your computer for it to be in effect.
rdfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 01:44 PM   #8
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdfry View Post
You need to restart your computer for it to be in effect.
No, you don't. I update all the time with no need for restarts.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 02:49 PM   #9
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 13,588
Karma: 5126946
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdfry View Post
You need to restart your computer for it to be in effect.
Calibre does need to be fully shut down (no tray icon), or the Update install can be blocked.
theducks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:12 PM   #10
Lady Fitzgerald
Wizard
Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Lady Fitzgerald ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Lady Fitzgerald's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,013
Karma: 251649
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ, USA, Earth
Device: JetBook Lite (away from home) + 1 spare, 32" TV (at home)
Only calibre needs to be restarted, not the entire computer.
Lady Fitzgerald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:41 PM   #11
rdfry
loving the books
rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rdfry ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
rdfry's Avatar
 
Posts: 320
Karma: 17580000
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Device: Rooted Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady Fitzgerald View Post
Only calibre needs to be restarted, not the entire computer.
You're right I meant to say restart Calibre, but typed computer instead.
rdfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 10:53 PM   #12
chamekke
Groupie
chamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavenschamekke is a rising star in the heavens
 
chamekke's Avatar
 
Posts: 190
Karma: 13510
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Device: Kindle 3 Wi-Fi
Just so it's clear ... you install the latest version of Calibre over your current version. In other words -- you don't need to de-install your current version first.
chamekke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:10 AM   #13
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by chamekke View Post
Just so it's clear ... you install the latest version of Calibre over your current version. In other words -- you don't need to de-install your current version first.
Yep. (Or was that no question?) You can uninstall, if you want to, but you don't have to.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre don't work with the latest Microsoft .NET version mikaelalind Recipes 0 01-22-2011 05:16 AM
Calibre appearence - type too small in latest version jjsimon Calibre 5 11-21-2010 04:19 PM
Latest Version of Calibre and Stanza Problem MerLock Calibre 9 07-27-2010 04:36 AM
Reader Library Software Not Working Correctly After Update to Latest Version sipig Sony Reader 1 06-02-2010 08:32 AM
Problem installing / using latest Calibre update thorswitch Calibre 15 06-18-2008 04:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.