Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2011, 12:35 AM   #1
sdc
Junior Member
sdc began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: none
Spiltting the library

New forum and calibre user here so I apologize if this has already come up. I admit to going a little crazy with my library and now I have more books than I know what to do with. What I want to do is find a way to split up the library into multiple libraries of a more manageable size. Any help is appreciated.
sdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:43 AM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,861
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdc View Post
New forum and calibre user here so I apologize if this has already come up. I admit to going a little crazy with my library and now I have more books than I know what to do with. What I want to do is find a way to split up the library into multiple libraries of a more manageable size. Any help is appreciated.
I have 7000 books and with books properly tagged, saved searches and restricted views I'm nowhere near thinking I need to split things up. Splitting the library up would actually hinder library management and make it harder to navigate or find what I'm looking for.

What do you wish to accomplish by splitting into multiple libraries?

It might be easier to create "saved searches" and use the "restrict to" feature to deal with parts of your library as if they were a library unto themselves. This doesn't require multiple libraries.

If you truly feel the need just use the drop down arrow next to the library icon and create a new library or 2 or 3, then copy whatever you want to into the 2nd, 3rd or 4th libraries.

Good Luck.

Last edited by DoctorOhh; 04-10-2011 at 12:45 AM.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:48 AM   #3
1611mac
eWanderer
1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.1611mac ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 520
Karma: 1441998
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NC, USA
Device: iMac,iPad3,iPhone5-Kindle Fire,Touch,PaperWhite
Have you checked out the user defined categories? You can create you own categories to assign books then just view those categories.
1611mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:54 AM   #4
sdc
Junior Member
sdc began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: none
Ok I get the create a new library thing, however I hung up on the coping from one library to the next. The coping does not work, instead I have to add the books to the new library and that becomes tedious. Is there a way to copy/move books from one library to another?
sdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:03 AM   #5
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,861
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdc View Post
Ok I get the create a new library thing, however I hung up on the coping from one library to the next. The coping does not work, instead I have to add the books to the new library and that becomes tedious. Is there a way to copy/move books from one library to another?
Copying from one library to another is the designed way to move books between libraries. Select the books you wish to copy right click and select copy to library.

What OS and calibre version are you using?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:15 AM   #6
sdc
Junior Member
sdc began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Device: none
Ah there is the answer I was looking for; I see the copy ability now. Thank you. I have vista and version 7.50.
sdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:21 AM   #7
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,861
Karma: 12755553
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdc View Post
Ah there is the answer I was looking for; I see the copy ability now. Thank you.
Glad to here it.

Have fun.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:13 AM   #8
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdc View Post
Ah there is the answer I was looking for; I see the copy ability now. Thank you. I have vista and version 7.50.
Be aware that the automerge function in Preferences Adding books applies to Copy to Library, if automerge is turned on. If you want an exact library duplicate, turn off automerge. It only affects duplicate books (identical author nearly identical title), but turn it off to be sure, unless you want identical books merged.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Old Thread] import library or export to single file add to existing library PCreighton Calibre 4 04-10-2011 01:08 AM
Sony Reader Library running, but Library doesn't show on screen wyldmint Sony Reader 0 08-29-2010 01:59 AM
How to direct Library books to Calibre instead of Sony Reader Library onebookie Calibre 3 07-19-2010 11:31 AM
How to move public library book from ADE to Sony Library? mom2three Sony Reader 3 06-30-2010 05:26 AM
505 for library ebooks & disfunctional sony library BookishMom Sony Reader 11 05-20-2009 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:54 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.