Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Conversion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2011, 06:11 AM   #1
hiperlink
Enthusiast
hiperlink began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: Kindle 3 Wifi only
ebook-convert error on PDF output without X

Hi all,

I'm running a headless server to convert some recipes to .mobi which works just fine.

Now I wanted to convert e.g. modoros.recipe to PDF on the same server, and I had got:

Code:
The cover image has an id != "cover". Renaming to work around bug in Nook Color
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "site.py", line 58, in main
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/conversion/cli.py", line 282, in main
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/conversion/plumber.py", line 1033, in run
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/pdf/output.py", line 90, in convert
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/pdf/output.py", line 119, in convert_text
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/pdf/output.py", line 122, in write
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/pdf/writer.py", line 116, in __init__
Exception: Not OK to use Qt
Using this command:

Code:
ebook-convert "${RECIPE}" "${RECIPE_NAME}.pdf" \
 --smarten-punctuation  \
 --change-justification justify \
 --paper-size a4  \
 --pretty-print  \
 --preserve-cover-aspect-ratio  \
 --insert-blank-line  \
 --margin-bottom 72.0  \
 --margin-top 72.0  \
 --margin-left 72.0  \
 --margin-right 72.0  \
 -vv \
 --debug-pipeline debugdir/pdf \
 | tee debugdir/pdfdebug.log
What am I doing wrong? Or do I really need X and Qt for CLI conversions to PDF?
hiperlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:48 AM   #2
ldolse
Wizard
ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.ldolse is an accomplished Snipe hunter.
 
Posts: 1,337
Karma: 123455
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Malaysia
Device: PRS-650, iPhone
You really need QT. X is not a requirement that I'm aware of, but the conversion engine uses some of QT's image handling libraries.
ldolse is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 04-04-2011, 06:48 AM   #3
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80520
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Moderator Notice
Moved to appropriate forum.

As far as I know, Calibre needs X to be installed for just about everything because of some common Qt functions. There are some notes in the FAQ that may be of help to you.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:23 AM   #4
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer
user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
user_none's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,465
Karma: 986493
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Device: Nook STR
You don't need a full X server installed you can use xvfb to allow Qt to run. PDF output for instance uses Qt for creating the PDF files. A number of other parts (MOBI output) will check for X / Qt and skip the processing steps that require it.
user_none is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error - convert pdf to epub alephan Calibre 2 09-27-2010 06:12 PM
Getting error when trying to convert a pdf file Blue Dream Calibre 1 07-24-2010 11:51 PM
Grab news error with PDF output chatainsim Calibre 3 02-28-2010 07:59 PM
Convert PDF To Sony eBook Format? Sjwdavies Sony Reader 12 12-13-2009 04:15 AM
Can the ebook from kindle convert back to pdf? cathyhk Amazon Kindle 1 11-28-2009 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.