Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2010, 11:11 PM   #1
zenrhino
Junior Member
zenrhino began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: iPad
[Old Thread] Linux Question: Library/DB/Server Only?

Is there any way to run Calibre under linux without any display options to only hold the library and run the server?

I have a small NAS with Debian installed on it. I'd like to move my library and metatadata.db over to the NAS and use that to serve out the books.

That would let me get my last server off of the OSX machine so I don't have to have it running all the time.

All the best,

FZR
zenrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:48 PM   #2
digital_steve
Muppet
digital_steve has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.digital_steve has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.digital_steve has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.digital_steve has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.digital_steve has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
digital_steve's Avatar
 
Posts: 240
Karma: 442
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tasmania
Device: Kobo Aura HD, Sony PRS-650
subscribed to this thread... i'll be interested to see the outcome!
digital_steve is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 12-30-2010, 03:16 AM   #3
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,459
Karma: 831552
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
You can run the calibre server from the command line. See http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual...re-server.html and http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual...n-linux-server. You can also set up the server to be behind another web server (reverse proxy). See http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual/server.html

There are alternate approaches that might work better in some situations, especially when the server isn't completely under your control. One is calibre2opds. Another that some use is dropbox. Another is my php server (http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=104188)

Last edited by chaley; 12-30-2010 at 10:18 AM.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 07:02 AM   #4
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer
user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
user_none's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,439
Karma: 950001
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Device: Nook STR
You can also set it up to use xvfb instead of a full X11 install in order to use some features that require X11 (some conversion stuff).
user_none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 03:14 PM   #5
zenrhino
Junior Member
zenrhino began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: iPad
Ach. This is exactly what I was looking for. I was looking in the wrong place in the docs and didn't see the command and params to get it going.

Have a great day,

ZR


Quote:
Originally Posted by chaley View Post
You can run the calibre server from the command line. See http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual...re-server.html and http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual...n-linux-server. You can also set up the server to be behind another web server (reverse proxy). See http://calibre-ebook.com/user_manual/server.html

There are alternate approaches that might work better in some situations, especially when the server isn't completely under your control. One is calibre2opds. Another that some use is dropbox. Another is my php server (http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=104188)
zenrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:35 PM   #6
zenrhino
Junior Member
zenrhino began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: iPad
Ok, seems it wasn't quite THAT easy. =)

I'm running a fresh Debian Squeeze on an arm PogoPlug with an apt-get update that was done this morning so I know everything is up to date.

I got an apt-get install calibre installed, got my library copied over, and started with calibre-server --with-library /mountpointhere and got this:

Quote:
sudo /usr/bin/calibre-server --with-library /mnt/thumb/calibre_library/
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/calibre-server", line 18, in <module>
from calibre.library.server.main import main
File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/library/server/main.py", line 12, in <module>
from calibre.library.server.base import LibraryServer
File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/library/server/base.py", line 23, in <module>
from calibre.library.server.opds import OPDSServer
File "/usr/lib/calibre/calibre/library/server/opds.py", line 15, in <module>
import routes
ImportError: No module named routes
Any idea where I'm going wrong?
zenrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:40 PM   #7
user_none
Sigil & calibre developer
user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.user_none ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
user_none's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,439
Karma: 950001
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Device: Nook STR
Don't install calibre using apt. That method is unsuported. The only suported install method is using the binary installer from http://calibre-ebook.com Distro packages of calibre are usually horribly broken.
user_none is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 04:41 PM   #8
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,459
Karma: 831552
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenrhino View Post
Ok, seems it wasn't quite THAT easy. =)

I'm running a fresh Debian Squeeze on an arm PogoPlug with an apt-get update that was done this morning so I know everything is up to date.

I got an apt-get install calibre installed, got my library copied over, and started with calibre-server --with-library /mountpointhere and got this:

Any idea where I'm going wrong?
The first place is (probably) using the package made available by apt-get. The repo versions are almost always very old, often in the version 0.6 range, and sometimes don't work. There are often DB compatibility problems. Further, and more important perhaps, they aren't supported here.

Get calibre's latest binary release (0.7.35) and install that.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 06:32 PM   #9
zenrhino
Junior Member
zenrhino began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: iPad
Ok, following the instructions on the download page, I got the package and untarred it.

When I ran the setup script, I got this:

Quote:
python setup.py install
Package poppler was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `poppler.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'poppler' found
Package poppler-qt4 was not found in the pkg-config search path.
Perhaps you should add the directory containing `poppler-qt4.pc'
to the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable
No package 'poppler-qt4' found
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "setup.py", line 13, in <module>
import setup.commands as commands
File "/opt/calibre/setup/commands.py", line 28, in <module>
from setup.translations import POT, GetTranslations, Translations, ISO639
File "/opt/calibre/setup/translations.py", line 14, in <module>
from setup.build_environment import pyqt
File "/opt/calibre/setup/build_environment.py", line 155, in <module>
popplerqt4_inc_dirs = poppler_inc_dirs + [poppler_inc_dirs[0]+'/qt4']
IndexError: list index out of range
Clearly, I'm missing a dependency, but I'm not sure what.

Thanks,

ZR
zenrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 07:24 PM   #10
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,952
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
the instructions you need to follow are for the binary install, not the source install.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:22 AM   #11
zenrhino
Junior Member
zenrhino began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 8
Karma: 22
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
the instructions you need to follow are for the binary install, not the source install.
Will the binary installer work for an arm device? I see on the site that the installer is built for x86.

Thanks!

ZR
zenrhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 01:30 AM   #12
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,952
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
if you have an ARM device then you need to build from source. The list of dependencies is at the bottom of the linux install page.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 11:07 AM   #13
ApK
What did you call me?
ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.ApK ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,271
Karma: 34420453
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NJ, USA
Device: Kindle
I hope this isn't too old a thread to resurrect.
I was wondering about the possibility of running the content server on my WD MBWE blue ring NAS. It's ARM/Linux based, but pretty underpowered, and I was thinking more along the lines of running the Content Server's functionality on the NAS's existing lighttpd server.
Can the Content Servers 'web app' be easily seperated from the built-in server?

Or, if it's more practical, does anyone know if the whole shebang can indeed run on the MBWE blue ring?

ApK
ApK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:06 PM   #14
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Moderator Notice
Due to the fast development cycle, information in old threads tend to get outdated pretty quickly. Next time, please just create a new thread if there is no active thread for your topic.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:12 PM   #15
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,055
Karma: 777825
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
To use the Calibre Content server you need most of the Calibre dependencies to be present. It could be quite a large job to get them all compiled up for the ARM architecture, and also there may well be RAM constraints that impact you at runtime.

You might want to look at using calibre2opds as an alternative approach. The catalog produced by calibre2opds should run fine under the built-in web server assuming you have enough space to store both the book files and the generated catalog, and it has no dependencies to worry about. You can look at this page to see an attempt to summarise the difference between the two different approaches.

There is also a PHP based content server around that can work with a Calibre library.

Last edited by itimpi; 03-31-2011 at 12:14 PM.
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre as a service in a linux server without QT4 nadid Calibre 4 01-25-2011 12:00 AM
Linux Calibre Server zeener Calibre 2 12-04-2010 10:47 AM
Standalone Server(linux) version just for collecting news? bigreat Calibre 8 02-25-2010 01:03 PM
Library on NAS server? bous Calibre 5 11-26-2009 05:03 AM
calibre html2epub on linux error cannot connect to X server voda Calibre 18 08-17-2009 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.