Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2011, 07:25 PM   #1
Vi_arun
Junior Member
Vi_arun began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Device: Sony PRS-600
Problem with Calibre?

Hi, I'm sorry if this is a repeat thread of it's in the wrong place, I'm new here and I assumed this would be a good place for my question!

So basically I downloaded the Calibre Library onto my computer and everything downloaded all fine and dandy but the problem with the program is that it kind of lags.

It won't let me click on items, I have to click about 5 times on it before it gets selected. When I want to edit the information for the ebook, I can't click on the seperate boxes for title/Author/Author sort etc. I have to enter the tab button till the cursor reaches where I want it to go.

It's just overrall very slow and really frustrating but I do really like this program! I searched for help once on the net but I couldn't find anyone else that had the same problem... so help guys?
Vi_arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:30 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,338
Karma: 5382313
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Dont use a wacom mouse.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 03:09 AM   #3
Vi_arun
Junior Member
Vi_arun began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Device: Sony PRS-600
Really? Is that all to it? O__O Cause that is in fact the mouse I'm using... xD
Vi_arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 04:23 AM   #4
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,094
Karma: 780247
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
There is a known problem with Wacom mice, and has been for a long time now.

I believe that the issue is somewhere deep in the guts of the Qt libray that calibre uses for platform-independent GUI handling. Until/if the Qt issue is fixed, the problem is therefore going to remain in Calibre. I guess it is also possible that an update to the Wacom driver might appear that fixes the issue.
itimpi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:12 AM   #5
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by itimpi View Post
There is a known problem with Wacom mice, and has been for a long time now.
You would think they might have made some effort to fix this, as it's only Wacom. The symptoms are clear enough that Kovid can spot the problem as being the Wacom mouse, just from those symptoms.

To the OP - you can use multiple mice attached to a single computer. They will all work fine without interference. You might also want to bug Wacom some more on this issue.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:14 AM   #6
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,094
Karma: 5939999
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
ANY program that uses the QT Library (and uses the right :^) routines).
This is NOT just a Calibre problem.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:18 AM   #7
Starson17
Wizard
Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.Starson17 can program the VCR without an owner's manual.
 
Posts: 4,004
Karma: 177841
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: WinMo: IPAQ; Android: HTC HD2, Archos 7o; Java:Gravity T
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
This is NOT just a Calibre problem.
Agreed. It's most likely Wacom's problem, as it seems to occur only with their products, although Qt might be able to work around it.
Starson17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
calibre, freezing, slow

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kindle and Calibre user with problem importing large library into Calibre pleabargain Calibre 1 12-07-2010 11:19 AM
Please help - Calibre problem Cathy_G Recipes 3 09-28-2010 10:18 AM
PRS-600 problem with calibre Nefertum Sony Reader 3 11-26-2009 10:00 AM
Calibré problem (may be XP problem) Hildebrandt Calibre 3 07-23-2009 03:04 PM
problem with calibre glenn cornish Calibre 5 01-19-2009 04:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.