Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 02:50 AM   #1
bubak
Member
bubak began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: kindle
Fetch news jobs freeze

I'm downloading 6-odd news every morning and as often as not some of them freeze in the stage "Working 100%" and then nothing happens, I kill them after half an hour or so (normally it takes 4 minutes at most). When I look in /tmp/calibre..., the file calibre_0.7.47_kAqSvL_worker_redirect.log says at the end "MOBI output written to /tmp/calibre_0.7.47_tmp_CX6LHm/calibre_0.7.47_0O_9bo_recipe_out.mobi" and there is indeed a perfectly normal .mobi there.
Strace shows on the calibre-parallel process

Process 3888 attached - interrupt to quit
read(6,
(6 being a unix stream socket).

Has anyone an idea what calibre may be waiting for and how to debug this?
bubak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:04 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,097
Karma: 5101571
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
You have some kind of IPC error, that is causing calibre to loose control of the worker process. I haven't a clue how to start debugging those.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 03-05-2011, 04:08 PM   #3
bubak
Member
bubak began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2010
Device: kindle
When I restart calibre in debug mode, it works. When I start it from source, it works, too. So what I'd probably need is to build calibre from sources with trace prints here and there. Unfortunately, I've got Debian testing and there is no Python 2.7 there. I've given it a short try but it would need much more time to set up the whole development environment for calibre. Or has anybody a neat zip file with everything that is needed?
bubak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Old Thread] News jobs to DropBox leebase Calibre 6 11-18-2011 08:36 AM
Fetch news chewi Recipes 0 11-30-2010 05:09 AM
Can't Fetch News Catew Calibre 2 07-19-2009 07:46 PM
Fetch News philipdavies Calibre 5 10-08-2008 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.