Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
wsignal
Junior Member
wsignal began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: PRS700
Column copy (one time)

Hello All,

I'm changing the way I tag books. I want to preserve the old tag values in a custom column before entering new tags. This is easy: create a custom column with a "{tags}" template. However, I now want to preserve the values in this column without ever changing them again (a one-time copy). How would I do that?

Thank you,
Will Signal
wsignal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:59 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,620
Karma: 4998447
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Use search and replace. Put .* as the search expression and choose an empty column as the destination field.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 02-18-2011, 11:05 AM   #3
wsignal
Junior Member
wsignal began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Device: PRS700
Thank you! I appreciate it.
-Will
wsignal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:51 AM   #4
rbartolome
Junior Member
rbartolome began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
Use search and replace. Put .* as the search expression and choose an empty column as the destination field.
First of all, thank you kovidgoyal four the excellent tool you have developed: Calibre!!!!.

Please, could you explain more detailed how to copy form one column to other, Im having hard times with your instructions "search and replace".

Thank you.

Raúl Bartolomé Castro
Engineering Manager
http://www.cisium.com/

Last edited by WT Sharpe; 03-30-2011 at 10:30 PM.
rbartolome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 03:21 AM   #5
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
That would be because they are not entirely correct. Try searching for "(.*)" and replacing it with "\1" (without the quotes, obviously). Keep in mind that you'll need to set your source and destination columns properly.
Edit: Oh, and you'll need to use regular expression search mode.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:00 PM   #6
rbartolome
Junior Member
rbartolome began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manichean View Post
That would be because they are not entirely correct. Try searching for "(.*)" and replacing it with "\1" (without the quotes, obviously). Keep in mind that you'll need to set your source and destination columns properly.
Edit: Oh, and you'll need to use regular expression search mode.
Thank you for you answer, I find out already the way, You highlighted I had to change to "regular expression search mode".
BTW I dont have to use "(.*)", just column source, and column destination.

Take care,
Raúl Bartolomé Castro
Engineering Manager
http://www.cisium.com
rbartolome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:41 PM   #7
Riva3000
Calibre fan
Riva3000 began at the beginning.
 
Riva3000's Avatar
 
Posts: 28
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Europe
Device: iRex 800SG, iPhone 3GS (shelved: iRex iLiad, KindleDX, Adam tablet)
I just found out its not possible to copy values of Rating columns this way - no Rating columns list in Source or Destination column lists in Search and replace.

Still it might be useful to be able to copy theyr values (as it happened to me).
Any way to do it ?
Riva3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
columns, copying

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 column PDF book to 1 column possible? SeaBookGuy Calibre 19 07-01-2013 02:30 AM
Q: multi-column PDF to single column mobi format converstion auburn1975 Calibre 7 01-28-2012 06:11 PM
anyway to change 2 column lrf to 1 column mobi? lapisjay Amazon Kindle 2 01-12-2011 10:20 PM
Free copy of The Time Machine by H.G. Wells (BooksOnBoard) orwell2k Deals, Freebies, and Resources (No Self-Promotion) 25 09-25-2009 09:56 AM
pdf to lrf with 2 column and 1 column pages in same file danielwille Sony Reader 3 11-12-2008 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.