Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > PocketBook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2011, 04:54 PM   #1
Farhad
Zealot
Farhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheese
 
Farhad's Avatar
 
Posts: 139
Karma: 1248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Device: N800/Nokia 5230/PB IQ701/PB 360
Five questions from afirst-time PocketBook IQ 701 user

Hi,

I just got my first ebook reader ever, and its a PocketBook IQ 701. So far, my first impressions are excellent, though I wish the screen was a tad brighter. I do have a bunch a basic questions which I would like to ask about this device:

1) Under DevTools I have a terminal emulator. How do I type in it? I tapped all over the screen, tried different buttons, and nothing seems to work. How do I enter commands? Also, is that a Bash terminal? If not, can I install Bash?

2) Though I absolutely love the device, I totally hate the welcome screen and, even more so, the Bookland applet. Can I book into an empty wallpaper screen and can I at least get rid of the Bookland applet on the home screen? Is there a way of booting into the EMPTY desktop and not get this horrible-looking homescreen?

3) Speaking of the wallpapered desktop (once the homescreen is pushed aside), I figured out how do I add and remove shortcut icons on it.

4) where could I get the following applications for my PB: Xchat, Zenmap, Pidgin?

5) What dictionary formats does the PB IQ 701 use? Can I just add any of my own dictionaries (in bgl, lsd, dict, dsl formats)

Many thanks for any pointers!!

Farhad
Farhad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 05:24 PM   #2
hiaig
Addict
hiaig has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.hiaig has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.hiaig has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.hiaig has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.hiaig has a complete set of Star Wars action figures.
 
Posts: 292
Karma: 428
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Device: jetbook and PocketBook IQ
1. Is there any reason you plan to use the terminal emulator? Read through the thread and use adb from your computer. A much easier way to do things.

2. Install one of Coredump-EE's repack:
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=116736

4. you can sideload one of the IM apps or get Android Market to work and load the apps from there.

5. I use Moon+ reader as my reader of choice and it uses a few dictionaries that you can download.

Cheers
hiaig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 02-18-2011, 06:12 PM   #3
Farhad
Zealot
Farhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheese
 
Farhad's Avatar
 
Posts: 139
Karma: 1248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Device: N800/Nokia 5230/PB IQ701/PB 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiaig View Post
1. Is there any reason you plan to use the terminal emulator? Read through the thread and use adb from your computer. A much easier way to do things.
I guess having a computer without a terminal freaks me out

I don't fell comfortable changing the firmware - I rather have a mainstream one.

What's adb anyway?

And, since there *is* a terminal, why can't I type anything in it?

Any way not to boot in the horrible home menu but in the applications menu or even the desktop?
Farhad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 06:54 AM   #4
fjtorres
Grand Sorcerer
fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 7,731
Karma: 59506073
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 26 kly from Sgr A*
Device: PRS-T1, KT, PB701/IQ, K2, PB360, BeBook One, Axim51v, TC1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhad View Post
Any way not to boot in the horrible home menu but in the applications menu or even the desktop?
Easy.
Install an alternate Launcher app (Open Home2, Launcher Pro, whatever.) There's dozens. After you install it you can set it as your default screen and never look at the PB Launcher again.

Or, if you install COREDUMP's righteous repack you'll get a modified version of the stock firmware with a lot of hacker options and none of the PB Apps tha defaults to the Launcher Pro home page. Then you can install those PB Apps you are actually planning to use.

Scout 'round these parts; you'll find answers to most of your questions arre scattered among the threads.

I suppose somebody ought to gather them into a single doc sometime, but...
fjtorres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 09:15 PM   #5
Farhad
Zealot
Farhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheese
 
Farhad's Avatar
 
Posts: 139
Karma: 1248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Device: N800/Nokia 5230/PB IQ701/PB 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjtorres View Post
Easy.
Install an alternate Launcher app (Open Home2, Launcher Pro, whatever.) There's dozens.
Ok. I will RTFM, but tell me one thing: can I install an alternate launcher app *without* changing/replacing the firmware?
Farhad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 06:52 AM   #6
fjtorres
Grand Sorcerer
fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 7,731
Karma: 59506073
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 26 kly from Sgr A*
Device: PRS-T1, KT, PB701/IQ, K2, PB360, BeBook One, Axim51v, TC1000
Sure.
The IQ is *NOT* locked down to alternate apps like some phones or tablets.
Just copy the apk file to the SD card and activate it from the file manager.
Here's a site to get you started:
http://www.freewarelovers.com/android

One of many options:
http://www.freewarelovers.com/android/app/adw.launcher

There's dozens of sites with Android software, just run a websearch on the app name and ".apk". Some are more reputable than others so some care is necesary.
fjtorres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 01:54 PM   #7
GUdrus
Junior Member
GUdrus began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
I have another starters question. With 600/900 series I heard it is possible to reflow pdf files to read them easier, when the whole page itself is to large for the screen. How to do it on Pocketbook 701 IQ?
GUdrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 05:18 PM   #8
Farhad
Zealot
Farhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheese
 
Farhad's Avatar
 
Posts: 139
Karma: 1248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Device: N800/Nokia 5230/PB IQ701/PB 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjtorres View Post
Sure.
The IQ is *NOT* locked down to alternate apps like some phones or tablets. Just copy the apk file to the SD card and activate it from the file manager. Here's a site to get you started:
http://www.freewarelovers.com/android
One of many options:
http://www.freewarelovers.com/android/app/adw.launcher
Thanks a lot - I like what I saw about this a lot. Quick question: can I

1) still use the original home screen if I want to ? or, if not
b) remove launcher and rest the original home screen?

Thanks a lot for the great pointer!!
Farhad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 05:42 PM   #9
fjtorres
Grand Sorcerer
fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 7,731
Karma: 59506073
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 26 kly from Sgr A*
Device: PRS-T1, KT, PB701/IQ, K2, PB360, BeBook One, Axim51v, TC1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farhad View Post
1) still use the original home screen if I want to ? or, if not
b) remove launcher and rest the original home screen?
1- Yes, you can use more than one Launcher/Home screen.
In fact, making the new one the default is optional. If you don't. hitting the home button makes the IQ ask which launcher you want to run.
OpenHome2, the one I use, has a pick in its settings to change the default setting without deleting it.

2- If you delete it, the IQ will default once more to the PB HomeScreen.
fjtorres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 05:54 PM   #10
fjtorres
Grand Sorcerer
fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.fjtorres ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 7,731
Karma: 59506073
Join Date: May 2009
Location: 26 kly from Sgr A*
Device: PRS-T1, KT, PB701/IQ, K2, PB360, BeBook One, Axim51v, TC1000
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUdrus View Post
I have another starters question. With 600/900 series I heard it is possible to reflow pdf files to read them easier, when the whole page itself is to large for the screen. How to do it on Pocketbook 701 IQ?
Look here:
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=112692

I use Repligo myself because it works best in paging mode.
fjtorres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 07:10 PM   #11
Farhad
Zealot
Farhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheeseFarhad can extract oil from cheese
 
Farhad's Avatar
 
Posts: 139
Karma: 1248
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Device: N800/Nokia 5230/PB IQ701/PB 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjtorres View Post
1- Yes, you can use more than one Launcher/Home screen. In fact, making the new one the default is optional..
Wow! adw.launcher is *superb* Thanks a lot for your help
Farhad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First-time PocketBook IQ 701 user question list Farhad Android Devices 1 02-18-2011 01:37 PM
pocketbook iq 701 musicman2523 Introduce Yourself 6 01-14-2011 09:26 AM
PocketBook IQ 701 mashik Android Devices 1 01-06-2011 09:08 PM
IQ-701 Pocketbook str13 Alternative Devices 2 12-09-2010 06:36 AM
Pocketbook IQ 701 zetareticuli PocketBook 13 12-01-2010 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.