Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2011, 10:18 AM   #1
kuklachica
Enthusiast
kuklachica began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 3G/WiFi
Adding books to Calibre from the Kindle?

How do I add books from my Kindle to Calibre so I can manage my library there?

And can I delete a book from my Kindle through Calibre?

thank you!
kuklachica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:26 AM   #2
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Connect the Kindle via USB. Calibre should then detect it and load a list of the books on the device. Once that's done, right click on any entry, and you'll get the option of copying it to your library and of deleting it.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 06:50 PM   #3
kuklachica
Enthusiast
kuklachica began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 3G/WiFi
I tried this but it gives me an error message, as if it can't upload azw files.
kuklachica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 07:06 PM   #4
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
That's weird, Calibre should at least be able to up- and download AZW files, I believe. Depending on DRM you may not be able to edit them, though. What exactly is the error message?
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:00 PM   #5
Sydney's Mom
I Bleed Cubby Blue
Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Sydney's Mom ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Sydney's Mom's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,471
Karma: 5345605
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago
Device: Kindle PW2, Fire HDX , IPad and Samsung Tab 2
I use the Manage my Kindle page to download my books to kindle4PC. Then, I can just point Calibre there, and it will import them. If I have certain plug-ins installed, they will be DRM free.

I find Calibre invaluable to manage my library. If you point it to dropbox, your library will be backed up to the clouds. And, if you have a wi-fi kindle, you can use the content manager to email books to your kindle. And, I just found out that if you try to email a book not in mobi format, Calibre will ask you if you want to convert it, and will automatically make a mobi version and email it to your kindle! Really cool - if you need any help, just ask!
Sydney's Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:06 PM   #6
kuklachica
Enthusiast
kuklachica began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 3G/WiFi
The error message I receive is:



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
kuklachica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:09 PM   #7
kuklachica
Enthusiast
kuklachica began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 3G/WiFi
I just tried adding a book from my Kindle for Mac books and it gave me the same message.
kuklachica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:22 PM   #8
kuklachica
Enthusiast
kuklachica began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 37
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 3G/WiFi
I figured it out. I had to add my Kindle's serial number somewhere and now it is working! Thank you for the help!!
kuklachica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre freezes when adding new books Rusherman Calibre 0 01-05-2011 03:46 PM
Adding Books to Calibre Canadian reader Calibre 0 11-20-2010 06:31 PM
Calibre Freezing When Adding New Books Nilam Calibre 4 07-18-2010 10:03 PM
Adding books to Kindle with Calibre mini-guide tapar Amazon Kindle 7 12-28-2009 06:29 AM
How Fast is Calibre in ADDING books? tINmOUSE Calibre 2 07-07-2008 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.