Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2011, 10:09 PM   #1
kingsinger
Junior Member
kingsinger began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: kindle 3
Question about Seattle Times Recipe (adding a section list)

What changes would need to be done to the built-in Seattle Times recipe, so that it has a section list and an article list like say the NYT or LA Times?

It's pretty hard to navigate through say 100 articles that have no discernible order.

TIA
kingsinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:38 PM   #2
Tegan
Connoisseur
Tegan began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 1st Gen, Kindle 3 SO
Just looking at the recipe, it appears that it's getting all the news from a single feed. So it won't naturally get divided into sections.

Code:
    feeds              = [(u'Articles', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/seattletimes.xml')]
So to fix it, the easiest way by far would be to find different feeds for each section you want and rework the recipe to include those as the feeds.

Here's the page of RSS feeds: http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/fla...vices/rss.html

Personally, I'd remove the main feed, or at least comment it out, and add a selection of the other feeds and see if they all worked properly. I think it could be a pretty useful recipe once that change is made.
Tegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:47 PM   #3
Tegan
Connoisseur
Tegan began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 1st Gen, Kindle 3 SO
Here. I'd change the Feeds to this:

Code:
    feeds              = [
                          (u'Top Stories', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/home.xml')
                          #(u'Articles', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/seattletimes.xml')
                          (u'Business & Technology', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/businesstechnology.xml')
                          (u'Personal Technology', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/personaltechnology.xml')
                          #(u'Entertainment & the Arts', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/artsentertainment.xml')
                          #(u'Health', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/health.xml')
                          #(u'Living', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/living.xml')
                          (u'Local News', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/localnews.xml')
                          (u'Nation & World', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/nationworld.xml')
                          (u'Opinion', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/opinion.xml')
                          (u'Politics', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/politics.xml')
                          #(u'Sports', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/sports.xml')
                          #(u'Nicole Brodeur', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/nicolebrodeur.xml')
                          #(u'Danny Westneat', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/dannywestneat.xml')
                          #(u'Jerry Large', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/jerrylarge.xml')
                          #(u'Ron Judd', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/ronjudd.xml')
                          #(u'Education', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/education.xml')
                          #(u'Letters to the Editor', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/northwestvoices.xml')
                          #(u'Travel', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/travel.xml')
                          (u'Outdoors', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/outdoors.xml')
                          #(u'Steve Kelley', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/stevekelley.xml')
                          #(u'Jerry Brewer', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/jerrybrewer.xml')
                          (u'Most Read Articles', u'http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/rss/mostreadarticles.xml')
                         ]
Tegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NY Times recipe -- request? maxbookworm Calibre 2 07-21-2010 04:07 PM
Recipe for Gulf Times rty Calibre 3 04-16-2010 12:04 PM
How do I create a section list for MOBI/ Kindle zdavatz Kindle Formats 8 02-12-2010 12:47 AM
New York Times recipe madrone26 Calibre 4 04-02-2009 01:13 PM
The Times news recipe? AprilHare Calibre 1 10-10-2008 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.