Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2011, 04:24 PM   #1
tamzilla
Zealot
tamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with otherstamzilla plays well with others
 
tamzilla's Avatar
 
Posts: 109
Karma: 2781
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: VA, USA
Device: nook, Ipod touch
Error when starting Calibre 0.7.39 on Windows 7 32bit

I just tried to upgrade Calibre 0.7.35 to 0.7.39 on my Windows 7 Professional 32bit machine. After the upgrade, Calibre won't run.

This is the error message:

"Python function terminated unexpectedly, source code not available (error code 1)."

I tried downloading it again, uninstalling Calibre, reinstalling 0.7.39 and still get the same error message.

I was able to download and install version 0.7.38 from Sourceforge and that version runs fine.

Anyone else have any trouble upgrading to 0.7.39?
tamzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:30 PM   #2
andrew121
Member
andrew121 began at the beginning.
 
andrew121's Avatar
 
Posts: 17
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: Kindle 3 - 3G+WiFi
Yep, it's crashing on my MacBook Pro as well. I'm going back to the last version until this is sorted out.
andrew121 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Enthusiast
Old 01-14-2011, 04:33 PM   #3
jgrnt1
Member
jgrnt1 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 10
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Device: iPad
Same problem here on Windows 7 64-bit.
jgrnt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:37 PM   #4
PassedPawn
Junior Member
PassedPawn began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: Sony PRS-300BC
Same here, Vista Home Premium 64-bit.
PassedPawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:39 PM   #5
kevinrs
Member
kevinrs began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: nook
ok, question would be is anyone on any system having calibre 0.7.39 run?
not running on win7 ultimate 64b
kevinrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:48 PM   #6
inkyness
Enthusiast
inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.inkyness ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 501252
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Nook Simple Touch
It won't start for me on OSX 10.5.8 either. :\
inkyness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 04:51 PM   #7
demonGeek
Junior Member
demonGeek began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle3
Broken in Ubuntu 10.04 x32.

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "site.py", line 53, in main
  File "site-packages/calibre/gui2/__init__.py", line 19, in <module>
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/metadata/meta.py", line 9, in <module>
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/metadata/opf2.py", line 20, in <module>
  File "site-packages/calibre/ebooks/metadata/book/base.py", line 20, in <module>
  File "site-packages/calibre/utils/formatter.py", line 14, in <module>
  File "site-packages/calibre/utils/formatter_functions.py", line 427, in <module>
  File "site-packages/calibre/utils/formatter_functions.py", line 86, in __init__
  File "inspect.py", line 688, in getsourcelines
  File "inspect.py", line 529, in findsource
IOError: source code not available
demonGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:12 PM   #8
vitalichka
Enthusiast
vitalichka began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Nook Color
Same here on Win7 - 64 Bit from calibre-0.7.38 to calibre-0.7.39.
Tried everything I could from everything that has been explained in the cloud and so far nothing has worked. What did work was to reinstall the old calibre-0.7.38 version.
Looking forward to an updated version.
vitalichka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:13 PM   #9
mrswizard
Junior Member
mrswizard began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cordova, Tennessee
Device: Kindle 2 and DX
It happened on my Win7 machine (32 bit) also. I'm sure glad someone mentioned it did the same thing on their mac... I won't even bother until the next version comes out.

I had to uninstall this one, then reinstall the previous version... all is well
mrswizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:16 PM   #10
JMikeD
Evangelist
JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.JMikeD is as sexy as a twisted cruller doughtnut.
 
JMikeD's Avatar
 
Posts: 452
Karma: 15000
Join Date: Jul 2008
Device: Various and sundry
Won’t load on MacBook with OS X 10.6.6. Went back to 0.7.38.

Mike
JMikeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:17 PM   #11
Maggie-Me
Zealot
Maggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with others
 
Maggie-Me's Avatar
 
Posts: 146
Karma: 2594
Join Date: May 2009
Device: Kindle PW,Sony 700, Sony 950 (Daily Edition),Nook Color,iPad
I was just about to upgrade ! Guess I will wait a day or two
Maggie-Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:28 PM   #12
Loosheesh
Wizard
Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Loosheesh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Loosheesh's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,311
Karma: 1833891
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Americas
Device: KindlePW + iPad3 + SGP5 + ClipZip
Same problem for me; running Windows 7 (64-bit).

I'll wait till tomorrow to see if there's a fix, else I'll have to go back to 0.7.38.
Loosheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:29 PM   #13
daesdaemar
Addict
daesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura aboutdaesdaemar has a spectacular aura about
 
Posts: 210
Karma: 4282
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida
Device: Sony 505, Kindle 3, iPad 3
Same problem here on Win 7 Pro 64 bit
daesdaemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:32 PM   #14
mjsiniard
Junior Member
mjsiniard began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta
Device: Kindle
Same problem, Win 7 64bit. Now if I can find the previous version somewhere
mjsiniard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:35 PM   #15
reader7
Junior Member
reader7 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 3
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie but have read comments here before. I have a 64bit win7 with same problem with 7.39. Any problems with calibre are usually fixed quickly so will wait til tomorrow.
reader7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Critical error when starting 6.32 weedfreak Calibre 1 01-07-2010 01:17 PM
Calibre 0.6.7 No longer sees my cybook (XP 32bit) magphil Calibre 3 08-22-2009 12:52 AM
Starting content server throws an error 55 valiant66 Calibre 4 06-09-2009 10:40 AM
Starting off without calibre dhylton Calibre 3 05-05-2009 11:24 AM
Error starting Connect software..can I get by without it buster Sony Reader 12 07-13-2007 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:28 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.