Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2011, 09:12 AM   #1
lothlann
Member
lothlann began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 24
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Device: none
Best way to move database to another computer

Just a quick question on the best way to move my collection to a different computer.

Would it just be a simple job of copy the files from my laptop to desktop after I have installed calibre on my desktop?

I apologise if this is a simple question I just wanted to make sure I didnt mess up my collection.

Thanks
lothlann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:21 AM   #2
jbcohen
Wizard
jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jbcohen ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jbcohen's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,709
Karma: 3718494
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hufflepuff commons, #15 Pivet Drive
Device: Kindle 5 Paperwhite
In the IT industry the laplink http://laplink.com/llgold/ is the generally excepted way to acomplish this task. Laplink Gold does not copy or move files from location to another it uses a method that is referred to as cloning. Makes little difference what format your files are in or which reader they are for Laplink clones them to the new location and your reader will not know the difference, won't know they have been moved.
jbcohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:37 AM   #3
Maggie-Me
Zealot
Maggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with others
 
Maggie-Me's Avatar
 
Posts: 146
Karma: 2594
Join Date: May 2009
Device: Kindle PW,Sony 700, Sony 950 (Daily Edition),Nook Color,iPad
Or.... zip library and upzip on new computer and point Calibre to location, I do it all the time, takes me about 5 min (about 500 books in library). Make sure you include the whole folder.

Last edited by Maggie-Me; 01-06-2011 at 12:38 PM.
Maggie-Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:29 AM   #4
cybmole
Wizard
cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cybmole ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 2,793
Karma: 1089170
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: Kobo aura HD, Kobo Arc, Kindle Fire HDX 8.9 , Kindle for PC
no need to zip and unzip even - just copy / paste the folder called calibre library from my documents..
me- I'd copy the folder, and then do the calibre install - the install will then find or ask about an existing library

ps ignore the expensive spam? link above -totally unnecessary! - you are simply copying a collection of data files from A to B. if the laptop & desktop are not networked then use a memory stick .

make sure you copy the entire folder. in addition to all of the books, it also contains a vital file called metadata.db which calibre needs for library management.

Last edited by cybmole; 01-06-2011 at 10:35 AM.
cybmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:39 PM   #5
Maggie-Me
Zealot
Maggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with othersMaggie-Me plays well with others
 
Maggie-Me's Avatar
 
Posts: 146
Karma: 2594
Join Date: May 2009
Device: Kindle PW,Sony 700, Sony 950 (Daily Edition),Nook Color,iPad
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybmole View Post
no need to zip and unzip even - just copy / paste the folder called calibre library from my documents..
me- I'd copy the folder, and then do the calibre install - the install will then find or ask about an existing library

ps ignore the expensive spam? link above -totally unnecessary! - you are simply copying a collection of data files from A to B. if the laptop & desktop are not networked then use a memory stick .

make sure you copy the entire folder. in addition to all of the books, it also contains a vital file called metadata.db which calibre needs for library management.
what he says, I only zip because it saves space on the memory stick
Maggie-Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 02:11 PM   #6
lothlann
Member
lothlann began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 24
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2009
Device: none
I see, very helpful. This is what I was thinking but wasnt 100%, thank you for the fast answer.
lothlann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 04:03 PM   #7
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,838
Karma: 12535517
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by lothlann View Post
I see, very helpful. This is what I was thinking but wasnt 100%, thank you for the fast answer.
FYI, there is a manual for calibre that has a bunch of info. Here is the blurb on moving between computers.
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I move notes to computer? nguirado Amazon Kindle 8 12-27-2010 06:03 PM
Deauthorizing a computer from Adobe Digital Reader without the computer MasterGame General Discussions 5 10-27-2010 11:36 PM
using replicator software to move calibre folder to another computer dcarlozzi Calibre 15 07-02-2010 03:18 PM
Move Books From Sony Library SW to Computer Vienna01 Sony Reader 11 12-07-2009 12:39 AM
Move Library Database? edbro Sony Reader 1 04-05-2009 02:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.