Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2010, 10:14 AM   #1
patc890
Junior Member
patc890 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX
Problem installing Command line tools

When I try and install the command line tools I get the following error.

Trackback (most recent call last):
File "site-packages/calibre/utils/osx_symlinks.py", line 78, in do_it
IOError: [Errno 4] Interrupted system call

Anyone have an idea what this is?

Thanks.

Pat.
patc890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 10:54 AM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,422
Karma: 4961459
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It means a system call was interrupted, usually this is a temporary error. Try doing it again.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:41 AM   #3
patc890
Junior Member
patc890 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX
Hi, Thanks for getting back. I did try a second time with no luck but third time it worked.

Pat.
patc890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 01:56 PM   #4
patc890
Junior Member
patc890 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX
One other question. When I start Calibre and attach either an iPad or Kindle neither shows up anywhere that I can see? I don't that across the top like in the video with library and the attached device. Or the "Send to Device" on the top menu?

Pat.
patc890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 04:30 PM   #5
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,030
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
The GUI layout has probably changed since the video was made?

If a device is attached, then the type is shown at the bottom of the screen.

If you have a "Send to Device" button, then something must be attached as that button is now only displayed when a device has been detected.
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 04:36 PM   #6
patc890
Junior Member
patc890 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX
When attach a Kindle, iPad or iPhone I don't see anything at the bottom? Also I don't see "Save to Device"?
patc890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 06:42 AM   #7
itimpi
Wizard
itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.itimpi ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,030
Karma: 777817
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
Sounds as if you should run the Device detection debug facility and post the output here to see if we can spot the problem.
itimpi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 08:02 AM   #8
patc890
Junior Member
patc890 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle DX
Thanks for the reply. I've got it working now. I found this post which explained it.

http://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...ht=saving+iPad

Pat.
patc890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem updating metadata (using mobi2mobi command line and gui) whitearrow Kindle Formats 3 12-05-2009 07:07 PM
Where are the command line tools? PaulChernoch Calibre 17 10-23-2009 12:08 PM
Why use the command line? slantybard Calibre 6 07-22-2009 12:17 PM
command-line conversion tools in 0.6.0? WayneD Calibre 3 06-03-2009 01:30 PM
Command line calibredb set_metadata problem Nedan Calibre 1 02-27-2009 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.