Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2010, 03:53 AM   #1
gertblij
Enthusiast
gertblij has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 39
Karma: 85
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Device: Kindle 3
Strange "No internet connection" message

I have set up Calibre to fetch a couple of news items every morning at 3am and it does this beautifully.

However, for the past few weeks (I don't know exactly when it started) every morning when I go to Calibre to email the downloaded items there is an error message "Cannot download news as no internet connection is active". But all news items were downloaded.

Also, when I click on the OK button in the error message Calibre closes down.

Nothing serious, but definitely nuisance value. Any ideas how to solve his.
gertblij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:14 AM   #2
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
You're running windows, right? That problem came up before about a month back and was discussed in this thread. No reported solution, though, as far as I recall.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 11:50 AM   #3
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,112
Karma: 5468860
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The (original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manichean View Post
You're running windows, right? That problem came up before about a month back and was discussed in this thread. No reported solution, though, as far as I recall.
I wonder if this may be caused by Anti-what-ever software updates being applied while Calibre is fetching. I recommend adjusting the A/V update schedule to miss the "Get News" window by enough minutes to allow it to complete
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:14 PM   #4
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
I wonder if this may be caused by Anti-what-ever software updates being applied while Calibre is fetching. I recommend adjusting the A/V update schedule to miss the "Get News" window by enough minutes to allow it to complete
Dunno. I'd say the firewall, if present, would be a more likely suspect. But in any case, the InternetGetConnectedState function that I presume to be the culprit here seems, from the research I did for the last thread, to be screwy enough to alone cause this all on it's own.
But be that as it may, more data is needed to make any kind of useful diagnosis- now, all we really can do is wave dead chickens around.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Access denied" to downloaded news - Windows Error message 5 SunFuLai Recipes 14 12-02-2011 02:20 AM
Error message : "Invalid Format" " Do you want to format your internal memory" narbeauchamp Sony Reader 11 07-22-2009 12:39 PM
Error message whenever cursor passes over "Search" bar FizzyWater Calibre 2 02-22-2009 09:37 AM
Getting "Protected Page" Message when reading unprotected PDFs skoobwoman Sony Reader 7 11-26-2008 07:14 PM
Cable TV Displays "Illegal Operation" Error Message Bob Russell Lounge 0 04-19-2005 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:45 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.