Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-28-2010, 11:32 PM   #1
LastMile
Junior Member
LastMile began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Nook
Error: Python function terminated unexpectedly

I've been getting an error when I install and run any recent build of Calibre (0.7.28-31:

Code:
Error
Python function terminated unexpectedly
cannot import name NOOK_COLOR (Error Code:1)
If I click OK the error dialog disappears, but Calibre doesn't launch.

I don't have a Nook Color, just a regular Nook.

If I roll back to 0.7.27 everything runs fines.

Any suggestions?

Edit:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Calibre2>calibre-debug -g
Python function terminated unexpectedly
cannot import name NOOK_COLOR (Error Code: 1)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "site.py", line 103, in main
File "site.py", line 85, in run_entry_point
File "site-packages\calibre\debug.py", line 155, in main
File "site-packages\calibre\gui2\__init__.py", line 19, in <module>
File "site-packages\calibre\ebooks\metadata\meta.py", line 11, in <module>
File "site-packages\calibre\customize\ui.py", line 14, in <module>
File "site-packages\calibre\customize\builtins.py", line 465, in <module>
ImportError: cannot import name NOOK_COLOR

Last edited by LastMile; 11-28-2010 at 11:37 PM.
LastMile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 11:43 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,458
Karma: 5383257
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
do the following:

uninstall

delete c:\Program files\calibre 2 (or whatever you calibre installation directory is)

re-install
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 11-29-2010, 02:09 AM   #3
LastMile
Junior Member
LastMile began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Nook
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovidgoyal View Post
uninstall
delete c:\Program files\calibre 2 (or whatever you calibre installation directory is)
re-install
Thanks. Worked perfectly. I swear I tried this with builds .28 and .29
LastMile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:15 PM   #4
bigandyherd
Junior Member
bigandyherd began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: kindle
Hi Kovid,

I too am having the same problem, however the steps you suggested above are not required. If I uninstall the Calibre2 folder in Program Files (x86) disappears. I'm using windows 7 with 64 bit. Can you suggest anything else which could enable me to use Calibre?


Many thanks,

Andy
bigandyherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:21 PM   #5
SoundMix
Junior Member
SoundMix began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: Kindle 2 & 3
Same problem with python error

Win 7 64. Instructions above do not work as the directory is removed by the uninstaller. Rollback to 7.37 works fine. Tried updating twice. Sticking with 7.37 for now.

Last edited by SoundMix; 01-14-2011 at 05:25 PM.
SoundMix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:22 PM   #6
drmaxx
Connoisseur
drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!drmaxx will blow your mind, man!
 
Posts: 74
Karma: 57808
Join Date: Sep 2009
Device: none
Similar problem here after installing 0.7.39.
Tried
* uninstall
* deleted \Application Data\calibre
* deleted metadata.db
Nothing worked.
Went back 0.7.35 (That's the installer I still had on my HD).

System: Win XP, SP3

Last edited by drmaxx; 01-14-2011 at 05:33 PM.
drmaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:43 PM   #7
Jcanal
Junior Member
Jcanal began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: PD Novel
Same problem here Win 7 Ultimate 32...
Jcanal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:53 PM   #8
HarleyB
Fanatic
HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.HarleyB ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 565
Karma: 1113286
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia
Device: Kobo (RIP), iPad, iPhone 4, Kobo Touch x2, Kobo Glo
I'm sorry but total dumb newbie question here.

Same problem - I have uninstalled Calibre but now the previous version (which I *thought* I had backed up) won't install. Where can I get a previous version of Calibre which will work?

Edit: Found where to get any previous version on another post
http://sourceforge.net/projects/calibre/files/

Last edited by HarleyB; 01-14-2011 at 06:30 PM. Reason: Found my answer.
HarleyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:13 PM   #9
b33pb33p
Junior Member
b33pb33p began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 1
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Device: none
Same problem (win 7 - 64bit).
rolled back to 0.7.38
b33pb33p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:32 PM   #10
NetSkipper
Junior Member
NetSkipper began at the beginning.
 
NetSkipper's Avatar
 
Posts: 2
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Interstella 5555
Device: Sony Reader PRS-950
Win7 32 bit.
Same here with 0.7.39. The C:\Program files\calibre is removed upon uninstalling.
Uninstalled, deleted C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\calibre and installed 0.7.38

Last edited by NetSkipper; 01-14-2011 at 06:34 PM.
NetSkipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:55 PM   #11
Giddeaon
Ex Libris....Vita
Giddeaon began at the beginning.
 
Giddeaon's Avatar
 
Posts: 19
Karma: 30
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saint Petersburg,FL
Device: Kindle Fire HD
Similar problem - Upgraded from 7.37 and received error: "Python fucntion terminated unexpectedly source code not available (error code: 1)" when done. Un-installed, re-installed and same error on Windows 7 x64. Unable to un-install and delete directory as it does so automatically. Rolling back to 7.37 for now.
Giddeaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:07 PM   #12
kiwidude
calibre/Sigil Developer
kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kiwidude ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,230
Karma: 1345754
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: London, UK
Device: Kindle Paperwhite 3G, iPad 3, iPad Air
Not to sound like a killjoy on this thread but can we please stop the "me too" posts?

Clearly there is an issue with the 0.7.39 build released today. Just use the 0.7.38 version until it is resolved, you can bet that Kovid will be on the case with a new build as soon as he is able to do so.
kiwidude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre produces Python function terminated unexpectedly roelvdh Calibre 6 09-09-2013 08:50 PM
txt2html function in python benluo Calibre 0 11-15-2010 10:27 AM
Python error! didiyy Calibre 6 09-24-2010 03:05 AM
Lost shell function unexpectedly nekokami iRex 13 09-07-2007 07:03 PM
Python Error with Plucker Horse Reading and Management 1 04-07-2003 02:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.