Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book General > General Discussions

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2010, 02:42 AM   #1
TPM
Junior Member
TPM began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Device: Laptop
Plustek OpticBook 3600 Scanner

Hi

Could any user of the above scanner advise me of the voltage and [I]amperage[I] of the power input. I have semi-reorganized my hardware and plugged in a 15V 1amp lead which seems to make the scanner malfunction. The socket on the scanner is marked 15V and I cannot find another transformer. : I would be grateful for any help.

TPM
TPM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:50 AM   #2
thinkpad
David
thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.thinkpad ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
thinkpad's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,774
Karma: 8916183
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Norway/Oslo
Device: Kindle, E.Edge (sold), Irex Iliad (retired)
In Europe it says
Input: 100-240V 1.0A Max 50-60Hz
Output: +15V 1.0A
Output power: 15W max
thinkpad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 04:49 AM   #3
rkomar
Wizard
rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.rkomar ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,673
Karma: 4122416
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Device: PRS-505, PB 902, PRS-T1, PB 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinkpadx View Post
In Europe it says
Input: 100-240V 1.0A Max 50-60Hz
Output: +15V 1.0A
Output power: 15W max
It looks like the same one for North America. My adapter is curved on one end, and the prongs are sideways (so it extends off the side of the powerbar ).
rkomar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 09:15 AM   #4
TPM
Junior Member
TPM began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Device: Laptop
Hi David (thinkpadx)

Thanks for the info. I thought the transformer I used may not have been the right one as there is no connection on the majority of transformers as to which piece of hardware it partners - except the voltage if it is shown on the parent machine. I have about twenty transformers kicking around and am gradually labelling them. I tracked down the problem to a faulty USB cable, now it will work.

I really appreciate your prompt reply.

Regards

TPM
TPM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 12:05 PM   #5
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 14,649
Karma: 5629001
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPM View Post
Hi David (thinkpadx)

Thanks for the info. I thought the transformer I used may not have been the right one as there is no connection on the majority of transformers as to which piece of hardware it partners - except the voltage if it is shown on the parent machine. I have about twenty transformers kicking around and am gradually labelling them. I tracked down the problem to a faulty USB cable, now it will work.

I really appreciate your prompt reply.

Regards

TPM
Watch out for the POLARITY marked for the dot inside the C .
Get that wrong and Bzzt, the magic smoke escapes

Having a few extra MA hurts nothing.
Having the wrong voltage could do damage.
Why can't device makers sticker (or at least include one in the users pack for you to apply) to generic power adapters?
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpticBook 3600 Book Scanner Review - Part I Bob Russell Workshop 68 01-28-2011 09:17 AM
Plustek OpticBook 3600 Custom Fast Scan Drivers? owl123 Workshop 1 09-20-2010 04:46 AM
Plustek AD450 scanner Tomsk Workshop 1 09-09-2010 07:54 AM
OpticBook 3600 scanner & Windows 7 Atys Workshop 3 08-17-2009 06:22 PM
Want to buy Plustek OpticBook 3600 PieOPah Workshop 7 01-26-2009 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.