Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2010, 10:47 AM   #1
vermontcathy
Connoisseur
vermontcathy has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 78
Karma: 80
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle 3 3G + wi-fi
Question Kindle for PC won't work

I recently got a new computer at work. The new one is Windows 7 (64-bit, I think, which I don't totally understand). I had Kindle for PC on my XP work computer, and I installed it on my new Windows 7 work computer. I am able to register and see my archive. But when I click on a book, it says the book can't be opened and tells me to delete it and try again. It also won't open non-DRM mobi books I have on my computer.

I've tried deregistering and reregistering, rebooting the computer, uninstalling and reinstalling the software, and installing version 1.0 (rather than the current 1.1). Nothing helps.

I've sent a sample to my Kindle for PC, and the sample shows up, but when I click on it, it says it can't be opened.

I can't call Kindle CS right now because I'm at work, but I'll send them an email. In the meantime, any ideas?
vermontcathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:02 AM   #2
cvkemp
Loving life
cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.cvkemp ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 565
Karma: 1007698
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hutto, Texas
Device: IPhone 5S, Nexus 7 32 gig. (2013), Dell 2350
You have to download the books from Amazon again. Reason the DRM is different on the new computer from the old computer.
cvkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:10 AM   #3
vermontcathy
Connoisseur
vermontcathy has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 78
Karma: 80
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle 3 3G + wi-fi
I've deleted all the books. I've tried re-downloading them. It doesn't work. It also won't open non-DRMed mobi books I have on my computer. It also won't open a sample that I sent (sent just now, on this new computer). Nothing will open.
vermontcathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:18 AM   #4
bwaldron
Wizard
bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.bwaldron ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
bwaldron's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,221
Karma: 530854
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida, USA
Device: Kindle 1/2/3/4/PW2, Droid Maxx, Galaxy Tab Pro (12.2")
Quote:
Originally Posted by vermontcathy View Post
It also won't open non-DRMed mobi books I have on my computer.
That is awfully strange (my first though was that the PC wasn't properly registered as a "device" at Amazon, but that wouldn't affect non-DRM'd local Mobi files). I'd try uninstalling and deleting all traces of the app from the PC, then reinstalling.
bwaldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:19 AM   #5
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,041
Karma: 40855212
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
I've seen no issues with Windows 7 and K4PC on several installs. It leads me to believe that there are local/network security settings being applied to your new work computer that are preventing it from working properly. Are you friendly with anyone in the IT department?
DiapDealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:20 AM   #6
vermontcathy
Connoisseur
vermontcathy has learned how to buy an e-book online
 
Posts: 78
Karma: 80
Join Date: Dec 2009
Device: Kindle 3 3G + wi-fi
Yup, tried deleting all traces of the program. First time I uninstalled, I noticed it was "remembering" some things when I reinstalled, so I showed the protected system files, and deleted folders that I found in c:/users. Someone on the Amazon boards said the same thing happened to him, and gave explicit steps for deleting these files and it didn't help me, but it helped him.
vermontcathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 11:25 AM   #7
OakIris
Addict
OakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a TexanOakIris might easily be mistaken for a Texan
 
OakIris's Avatar
 
Posts: 300
Karma: 18487
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Device: Kindle 3 WiFi
Does Kindle4PC support 64-bit operating systems? It probably does, but I couldn't find anything about this in the information on their download page.

This article explains a little bit more about Windows DRM system - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/891664 .

On the other hand, vermontcathy, this is a work computer. You might check with your IT department; perhaps they have set up some new security/work rules and have blocked the use of such applications as Kindle For PC. Usually though, you wouldn't even be able to download the application, let alone install it, but I would still check with your IT department to see if they have any ideas for a solution to your problem

Holly

Edit - Whoops, DiapDealer beat me to it. He posted his comment while I was busy writing mine. What he said!!

Last edited by OakIris; 10-06-2010 at 02:33 PM.
OakIris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 01:15 PM   #8
jswinden
Astrophotographer
jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.jswinden ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
jswinden's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,305
Karma: 6800164
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Device: iPad Mini 2, iPhone 5, Nexus 7.2
Kindle4PC works well with Windows 7 64-bit. I suspect that it is an Administrator issue, or lack thereof. As DiapDealer mentioned it is probably an issue with the company IT department not allowing it to work or not allowing you to set up the required Administrator rights. A lot of companies are pretty strict on what they allow their network to connect to, and for good reason.
jswinden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hacks Do any of the hacks that are currently out work on Kindle 3? lunixer Amazon Kindle 24 09-05-2010 05:07 PM
Kindle at Work BrianG Calibre 4 02-05-2010 06:34 AM
Does Safari work on the Kindle? cyan Amazon Kindle 11 01-26-2010 10:47 PM
How Will Kindle Work in Africa? Diso Amazon Kindle 15 02-09-2009 02:43 PM
Kindle - html to Kindle format - do links to anchors work? Rasczak Kindle Formats 20 12-08-2008 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.