Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2015, 06:31 AM   #1
wwwordsmith
Junior Member
wwwordsmith began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2015
Device: Calibre 2.17
Calibre won't load

The program partially loads (Task Manager shows it running) but no main screen appears. Running Debug (see file attached) displays the program screen but it won't load new books. I've tried reinstalling and this doesn't change anything. The two fonts mentioned in the debug analysis aren't on my system. Can anybody help, please?
Attached Files
File Type: txt CalibreDebug.txt (585 Bytes, 19 views)
wwwordsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 10:27 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,657
Karma: 6611233
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT,Galaxy Tab 2
That says you have a bad (defective) font installed on your system (and calibre is now trying to use it)


in the configuration folder: rename gui.json to gui.json.bak

and see if calibre will start (mostly it will be look&feel settings will be gone, replaced with the factory defaut)
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Advertisement
Old 02-19-2015, 10:52 AM   #3
Gunnerp245
Gadget Freak
Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.Gunnerp245 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Gunnerp245's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,153
Karma: 1043832
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: US
Device: EE, PE, Note 8
There was a windows update KB3013455 that messes up fonts on Vista. Uninstalling the update returns the fonts to normal.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...0-6213c05107d3

Last edited by Gunnerp245; 02-19-2015 at 10:53 AM. Reason: added url
Gunnerp245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 05:27 AM   #4
wwwordsmith
Junior Member
wwwordsmith began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2015
Device: Calibre 2.17
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
That says you have a bad (defective) font installed on your system (and calibre is now trying to use it)

in the configuration folder: rename gui.json to gui.json.bak

and see if calibre will start (mostly it will be look&feel settings will be gone, replaced with the factory defaut)
That works fine. Thanks.

However, as I noted, neither of the two fonts listed as errors are on my system. They aren't in my Windows/Fonts folder and a search doesn't find them on my C: drive. There is a fonts folder in the config directory, but that doesn't have any fonts in it. The gui.json file has no mention of fonts.

Any thoughts on how to proceed?
wwwordsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 05:29 AM   #5
wwwordsmith
Junior Member
wwwordsmith began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2015
Device: Calibre 2.17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnerp245 View Post
There was a windows update KB3013455 that messes up fonts on Vista. Uninstalling the update returns the fonts to normal.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...0-6213c05107d3
I should perhaps have said that my system is Windows 7 but didn't do so as it was listed in the file I uploaded. That fonts problem doesn't exist on Windows 7 or 8.
wwwordsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 06:17 AM   #6
BetterRed
null operator
BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.BetterRed ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 4,379
Karma: 3197381
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Device: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwwordsmith View Post
That works fine. Thanks.

However, as I noted, neither of the two fonts listed as errors are on my system. They aren't in my Windows/Fonts folder and a search doesn't find them on my C: drive. There is a fonts folder in the config directory, but that doesn't have any fonts in it. The gui.json file has no mention of fonts.

Any thoughts on how to proceed?
Just to make sure, check ...\Calibre2\resources\fonts

Any fonts in the config should be in %appdata%\calibre\resources\fonts, if that's the empty folder you mention, try deleting it. If that's not the location then delete the folder.

A search for the fonts turned up a number of links to 'dodgy' file hosts and torrent sites for a French medical dictionary and links some 19th century USA newspapers. Maybe they ring a bell.

BR
BetterRed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 08:39 AM   #7
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,793
Karma: 5456159
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
fonts are a red herring. font erros wont prevent calibre from working. Why do you say calibre does not add books in debug mode? What happens?

You should review the points in: http://manual.calibre-ebook.com/faq....s-occasionally

Theya re all the known causes of calibre not working on windows.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 04:43 PM   #8
wwwordsmith
Junior Member
wwwordsmith began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 4
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2015
Device: Calibre 2.17
Thanks to everyone for your suggestions. The problem with Calibre running under debug not adding books was a temporary glitch and I was able to do it on a second try. Removing the 32-bit version of Calibre and installing the 64-bit one has circumvented the problem. And I did find the two fonts that were flagged by the debugger - I hadn't realised that Windows Search doesn't find fonts by their filenames; I had to do a DOS listing to show and delete them.
wwwordsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre won't load. FennecTheFox Calibre 2 01-26-2015 09:12 PM
Calibre won't load jcrawfordx Calibre 12 03-24-2013 02:47 PM
Calibre won't load trumphodge Devices 7 07-13-2012 08:05 AM
calibre won't load due to AV bookworm65 Calibre 1 08-21-2010 12:13 PM
Calibre Won't Load calibrepf Calibre 6 12-10-2009 05:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.