Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2010, 10:59 PM   #1
icq70610
Enthusiast
icq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enough
 
icq70610's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 510
Join Date: Sep 2008
Device: PSR505
Calibre changes size of cover.jpg when copy to new Libary --> see PDF attached

Hi folks,

Calibre changes the file size of all covers if copying to a empty library!
Windows 7 32.bit / Calibre 0.7.21

What I did:

1) Create empty library

2) Copy Selection of books into new library

3) Checked filesize of cover.jpg in new library. and compare to old one

I copied approx 1000 + books and filesize changed by +25% also noticeable sometime *.lit files are not copied.

in the PDF you have it with step by step pictures and text

Thanks

Joe
Attached Files
File Type: pdf test_for_mobileread.pdf (228.0 KB, 103 views)
icq70610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 11:09 PM   #2
DoctorOhh
US Navy, Retired
DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DoctorOhh ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DoctorOhh's Avatar
 
Posts: 8,838
Karma: 12535517
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Carolina
Device: Nexus 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by icq70610 View Post
3) Checked filesize of cover.jpg in new library. and compare to old one
So it didn't change the dimension of the image the the filesize?
DoctorOhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 11:50 PM   #3
icq70610
Enthusiast
icq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enough
 
icq70610's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 510
Join Date: Sep 2008
Device: PSR505
hi no it dosent change the dimensions.

im currently still investigating details but in all files the changes are present.

i extracted the DIFF of the image changes and you can see them attached.

if you look at the compare.jpg you will see the Quality settings changing from 75% --> 92% so it seems calibre is doing a preprocessing of the files before rewriting them.

Thanks

Joe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	before.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	32.2 KB
ID:	59192   Click image for larger version

Name:	after.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	40.3 KB
ID:	59193   Click image for larger version

Name:	diff.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	75.3 KB
ID:	59194   Click image for larger version

Name:	compare.JPG
Views:	75
Size:	165.2 KB
ID:	59195  

Last edited by icq70610; 10-01-2010 at 11:57 PM.
icq70610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 12:37 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,949
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
yes all covers are processed. Why is that a problem?
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 12:59 PM   #5
icq70610
Enthusiast
icq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enoughicq70610 will become famous soon enough
 
icq70610's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Karma: 510
Join Date: Sep 2008
Device: PSR505
Hi,

basically for two things.

1) why should a copy books to library anyhow do a preprocessing? I was assuming that the copy process is simple a copy and a rename of the directory according to the naming structure.

BOOK TITLE (166) --> BOOK TITLE (23)

2) preprocessing the files and changing quality in jpg's especially when you have a small image increases the filesize without any further info. so I was wondering why my folder size was changing?

Was the whole procedure planned? I mean if there is a good reason why the increase should be there im not against. I just dont see one :-(

thanks for the quick reply.

Joe
icq70610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 01:29 PM   #6
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,949
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
It uses the same code path as adding books, which processes images to normalize them and replace transparent backgrounds with white ones.
kovidgoyal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bug, calibre

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem converting pdf to epub (size) using calibre abadguy PDF 6 03-23-2012 05:33 AM
JPG cover files not removed from Novel js4c Calibre 5 08-03-2010 09:27 PM
Calibre changes the .PDF pages size beniof Calibre 0 07-09-2010 06:41 AM
Can't update cover if file cover.jpg is already in the directory ? q345 Calibre 14 06-08-2010 06:23 AM
PRS-900 Attached Leather Cover for the 900 SCION Sony Reader 3 01-18-2010 12:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.