Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2010, 04:42 PM   #1
smartin
Junior Member
smartin began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: ipad
Calibre hangs on startup after moving to NAS

I moved my library to a QNAP NAS device and now Calibre hangs with the message "Starting Calibre: loading books..." when I try to start it.

This happens both on Linux and the Mac accessing the NAS via nfs. Are there some sort of paths stored in the metadata that needs to be corrected? Is there some way to regenerate the metadata from the file system?
smartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 04:53 PM   #2
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,770
Karma: 1212746
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
SQLite is probably unhappy. If you are using windows (although it appears that you are not), Calibre tends not to like UNC paths. If you are using them, mount the NAS volume as a drive and use drive letters. Another problem that people have run into is that some NAS don't do locking in a reasonable way. Can't speak for yours.

As for regenerating the metadata, no, not on the release you are probably running. And in any event, if copying the database to the NAS doesn't work, then almost certainly rebuilding the database on the NAS won't work.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 05:10 PM   #3
smartin
Junior Member
smartin began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: ipad
There is no usage of windows anywhere here. I've tried doing a calibre-debug --reinitialize-db and it seems to hang as well.

The library was previously on an nfs mounted file system being served by a centos server and it worked fine.
smartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 05:11 PM   #4
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,770
Karma: 1212746
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Sounds like you have demonstrated that the QNAP NAS is broken.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 05:21 PM   #5
smartin
Junior Member
smartin began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: May 2010
Device: ipad
I found a discussion of this in another thread and the CALIBRE_OVERRIDE_DATABASE_PATH works for me. Is there anyway that I can configure this on the Mac?
smartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibre just hangs mentz Calibre 9 10-08-2010 12:26 AM
Calibre Preferences Hangs Themus Calibre 0 08-19-2010 07:48 PM
Calibre hangs and can't do anything vincentnoiseux Calibre 17 04-30-2010 10:13 AM
Calibre hangs now coase Calibre 5 07-14-2009 08:12 PM
Reader Hangs on Startup...yes, it's charged! doublekross Sony Reader 3 06-14-2009 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.