Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

View Poll Results: What is the best pdf reading ebook device?
Kindle 1 10.00%
Kindle II 1 10.00%
Cybook Opus 1 10.00%
Astak Pocket Pro 3 30.00%
Jetbook Ectaco 2 20.00%
BeBook 1 10.00%
Foxit eSlick 0 0%
eBookwise reader 1 10.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11-17-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
s7whitecoral
s7whitecoral began at the beginning.

Device: eBookwise-1150
Exclamation Hi Everyone - Need some clarification and direction

Hi all,
This is my first post on this forum and I'm kinda going to just try and post as much of my concerns as possible so that y'all can help address them.

I'm a major tech dummy ...as in I'm completely lost when it comes to understanding technical aspects of tech stuff. I'm interested in getting an
e-book reader but there seems to be so much information out there that I'm at a complete loss as to what I should go with. I need a reader that will handle PDF documents comfortably since I read a lot of fiction that is in PDF format. I keep finding the term DRM free ??? or DRM again ??? I don't get what that's all about...

What I'm really sure about is that I don't want anything from Sony...so that's one brand that's out of the game...I'm from Canada and I believe that pretty much excludes the Kindle as well (Although I just saw today that Amazon Canada is now shipping Kindle units to Canada...don't know what that's all about)...but suppose I did get a Kindle unit...here's my question to you...I buy all my ebooks from Fictionwise, Bookstrand, Loose Id, Changeling Press, EC and various other smal publishers; does that mean that if I had a Kindle I wouldn't be able to transfer my .pdf files into the reader? Does Amazon have access to my books even though I didn't purchase them from their store? or is it even possible to load the Kindle with non-Kindle books? aargh!!! so freakin' confusing!