Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Old 02-26-2015, 12:16 AM   #1
borhan.ur
borhan.ur began at the beginning.

Device: Kindle PaperWhite 2 (2014)
Lightbulb Google Keep for Kindle PW

Since last year I've been using Google Keep. And the no. 1 reason I wanted to buy an android phone is to able to keep notes on the fly (and offline) and syncing it to my desktop. (I know there probably some good alternative out there).

But instead of an android I ended up purchasing a Kindle PW2 (2014). I have leafpad there (and other apps with KUAL). But I really want to make Google Keep a native app on my Kindle. Although I'm a noob in developing, with you guy's help, I want to contribute the amount of time and concentration it takes to make this work.

MY GOAL: Compiling the chrome version (I guess HTML5) of Google Keep into a native Linux app,
or finding a lite native wrapper application to run this Chrome extension in Kindle...
being able to open it as Kindle Extension,
being able to keep notes offline,
being able to write notes with native keyboard without internet,
being able to sync notes with WiFi available,
being able to do this in such a way that I can make future updates of the extensions work in same way.

MY PROGRESS: Not much. That's why I'm asking for your guidelines.

Wanted to try fogger https://launchpad.net/fogger
but probably that ppa isn't working for me.
I hope there are some packages which can compile this kind of apps in native GTK app.

STUFFS I HAVE OR I CAN:
1. Kindle PaperWhite 2 new variant. 5.6.1.0.6, couldn't resist updating and lost my root access. MKK Kindlets and KUAL Extensions still working (without root access).
2. Desktop with Linux Mint 17.1 installed. (5 months in Linux) (win8.1 in old HDD)
3. Ability to work hard toward my goals.
4. Lots of lots of googling.
5. Able to read and tweak codes and try every opportunity I get.