Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 06-10-2010, 05:38 PM   #1
DarkHaloPrincess
Oooooeeeeeeeee...
DarkHaloPrincess doesn't litterDarkHaloPrincess doesn't litterDarkHaloPrincess doesn't litter

Device: Sony Pocket Edition (Rose Pink) & Kindle 3 (Preordered)
I'm new to the ereaders and ebooks - need help please.

Hi,

I'm new to this forum as well as the ereading world. For the last months I've been looking around and have finally decided on the sony prs300 which I'm picking up early next week. I've got a few questions which I can't find the answers to (maybe I've not looked hard enough). I don't know much about ereaders so please bear with me.

First question is about the charging. I know that the reader comes with a USB cable but I've read that takes 4 hours to charge whilst using an ac adpater takes 2 hours (about). For the first charge I've read that the charging takes a really long while but what I want to know is, can I charge the reader with an ac adapter the very first time it's taken out of the box? Or do I have to use the usb and a computer?

I've found this ac adapter charger - is this suitable or is it a cheap knock off? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/UK-MAINS-CHARG...item563cc8d264

Second question. I'm aware that there are free ebooks on this site, google, manybooks.net etc. If I were to download the Jane Austen collection say, and add them to Calibre, can I then send them to two ereaders from the same Cailbre programme? These two ereaders would both be the sony prs 300models (mine and my sisters'). Or would she have to transfer those books to her reader from her own Calibre account?

Third question. When I download books from Waterstones and Whsmith, where do they go on my laptop? I know that I have to install both the sony reader library and adobe digital editions but why do I need both? It's all so complicated for me.