Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle

Notices

Old 07-25-2010, 07:17 PM   #1
zetareticuli
Addict
zetareticuli doesn't litterzetareticuli doesn't litterzetareticuli doesn't litter

Device: Aztak Mentor
PDF Functionality in Kindle

I am not a Kindle developer but I am developer for embedded systems and I have done development for many types of devices. I don't understand what Amazon's problem is with the PDF support in the Kindle e-readers. I mean, the Kindle is now mature enough that it can have a very good PDF viewer. It took me and a colleague of mine at work just 10 days to add amazing PDF on screen support to a proprietary system including reflow, a single-line magnifier, multi-column display, 7 different zoom levels, and other nifty things. All we needed was the framework and the source code of the original platform. Evidently, Amazon has these things for the Kindle e-readers. From a technical standpoint adding kick-ass PDF support and features to the Kindle devices is so simple that the fact their PDF support is so poor is beyond me. Evidently, there must be other reasons other than technical for such poor PDF support.
zetareticuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 07:42 PM   #2
jswinden
Nameless Being

It is not just Amazon. Sony has terrible PDF support on their readers. I'm not sure if any e-Ink reader from any manufacturer has a good PDF rendering engine that works well. Even Acrobat Reader for computers is lackluster IMHO.