Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Library Management

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2012, 03:14 AM   #1
nomad062
Junior Member
nomad062 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: kindle
Dual Boot Linuxmint/XP Library sharing

I am currently running XP/LinuxMint12/Ubuntu 11.10.

I run Calibre in all boot modes pointing to Calibre Library's on NTFS files ystem originally created under XP.

Under Ubuntu the NTFS file system is available in Calibre if accessed prior to running Calibre (IE the disk is mounted).

Under Mint this isn't the case. I cannot get Calibre under Mint to access any filesystems other than the Mint root.

Fairly novice Linux user here so be gentle with your suggestions please.

Laurin
nomad062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:19 AM   #2
theducks
Grand Sorcerer
theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.theducks ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
theducks's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,250
Karma: 6020307
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: (The original) Silicon Valley, USA
Device: Galaxy Tab 2, Astak Pocket Pro, K4NT
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomad062 View Post
I am currently running XP/LinuxMint12/Ubuntu 11.10.

I run Calibre in all boot modes pointing to Calibre Library's on NTFS files ystem originally created under XP.

Under Ubuntu the NTFS file system is available in Calibre if accessed prior to running Calibre (IE the disk is mounted).

Under Mint this isn't the case. I cannot get Calibre under Mint to access any filesystems other than the Mint root.

Fairly novice Linux user here so be gentle with your suggestions please.

Laurin
Don't

There are differences (case sensitivity or lack there of) between Windows and Linux file naming that will haunt you if you are not extremely careful.
theducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:56 AM   #3
nomad062
Junior Member
nomad062 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: kindle
Quote:
Originally Posted by theducks View Post
Don't

There are differences (case sensitivity or lack there of) between Windows and Linux file naming that will haunt you if you are not extremely careful.
It is basically temporary until I decide on an operating system, but I don't want to have to reboot back and forth for the time being. I don't do all the management stuff I see being talked about in the forum - mostly just add books and read, very rarely do I edit metadata etc.

I am still interested in why Calibre under Mint doesn't even see the drive. It does get mounted as fuseblk rather than ntfs for some reason, however, it is the same under Ubuntu.

Last edited by nomad062; 04-02-2012 at 02:06 PM. Reason: More information added
nomad062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:03 PM   #4
nomad062
Junior Member
nomad062 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: kindle
Ok, found it. Had to look under /media for the drive, doesn't show up like I was expecting as an actual device to be selected.
nomad062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:19 PM   #5
kacir
Wizard
kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kacir ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kacir's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,858
Karma: 3164175
Join Date: May 2006
Device: PocketBook 360, before it was Sony Reader, cassiopeia A-20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomad062 View Post
Ok, found it. Had to look under /media for the drive, doesn't show up like I was expecting as an actual device to be selected.
Click on icon Computer on desktop (in Mint Katya) or open file browser other way (on Lisa)
On left side of file browser you have listed media called Places.
By double-clicking on the disk you mount it.
You can also mount disk by installing gparted, and many other ways, as described in countless Ubuntu and Mint Linux howtos.

I personally would use fat32 filesystem instead of ntfs. But I might be a bit too conservative. Ntfs seems to be working OK lately.

Oh. One more thing.
Make a backup of your library regularly if you play with fire this way.

I myself am dual-booting between Mint Katya and Lisa (and other systems, such as FreeBSD, but I do not use Calibre on those). I have one common partition that I mount as /home/ on all Linux distributions. I use one distro - in this case Katya until I tune another (Lisa) to my taste, then I move work files between directories /home/katya and /home/lisa, and make space for transition to LM13 by deleting Katya system partition. All you need is the same uid for default user (which is automatic in Mint Linux)
kacir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 02:27 AM   #6
nomad062
Junior Member
nomad062 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 9
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2012
Device: kindle
Finding the drive under pure Mint wasn't a problem. Under Calibre when creating/adding a library the only options that show up for locations are home and computer. I had to physically key in /media in order to work my way to the actual device.

Very easy once I realized I could.

Thanks for the warnings. And the info on migrating.

Laurin
nomad062 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
linuxmint, ntfs, ubuntu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color CM7 Dual Boot Help jhempel24 Nook Color & Nook Tablet 3 12-25-2011 08:34 AM
Color Can't dual boot with 1.4.1? jhempel24 Nook Color & Nook Tablet 6 12-21-2011 01:35 AM
Dual boot question Sharone Calibre 14 10-30-2010 12:19 PM
Dual boot Linux? Nick_Djinn enTourage Archive 21 09-23-2010 10:32 PM
Is it possible to support dual boot? harpum iRex 5 07-06-2007 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.