Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Sony Reader

Notices

Old 11-21-2009, 02:08 AM   #1
tyutchev
tyutchev began at the beginning.

Device: sony prs-600
[SOLVED] problem ejecting reader and sending files to it

Hi all.

I'm new to this reader stuff, and been having some problems with the prs-600 I just got.

First question: I looked all over and that behaviour wasn't supposed to happen. When I disconnect the device (either with Calibre or the usb icon on the tray bar), following everything I should, I get the default message "USB connect" (as if it meant "it is connect to your pc and I'm not accessing anything right now"). However, by pulling the cable out and, say, after a few minutes plugging it back in, I receive a message in windows (in my case windows vista ultimate x64) telling me that the device's file system might be damaged and that I should scan it for errors (the typical msg when one disconnects the usb cable while it's being accessed by some process). If I reformat the memory and plug the cable, there's no problem at all, only after I've connected the reader one or two times after that.

As it shouldn't be like that (I guess), I was wondering if anyone might have heard of an issue like this one. At first I thought it could be the AV (in this case, kaspersky) not letting the device go (even though the drives aren't showing in windows explorer), but it wasn't the case, since it happens anyway with the AV turned off. Thought it could be some unidentified garbage with my pc, but I just reformated and still no deal.